We saw a packet of sweets and started to read the ingredients. The sweets were jelly type so needed double checking as the pack was not suitable for vegetarians.
As we were reading the ingredients, we saw that it contained "Halal Beef Gelatine" hence not suitable for vegetarians.
Naturally we assumed they were halal and didn't continue to read the rest of the ingredients.
However, a day later, we were called up by some friends who informed us that those sweets we all had were in fact haram!
One of the younger sisters read the whole thing and saw that it contained cochineal. (Insect blood)
What an utter waste.
Always make sure your read the full ingredients and don't be misled by one mention of halal.
Sweets in questions:
Ingredients to be uploaded when possible on next post.