Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

Pointless ingredients

You have contributed 0.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,923
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 3rd September 2017 17:17

We saw a packet of sweets and started to read the ingredients. The sweets were jelly type so needed double checking as the pack was not suitable for vegetarians.

 

As we were reading the ingredients, we saw that it contained "Halal Beef Gelatine" hence not suitable for vegetarians.

 

Naturally we assumed they were halal and didn't continue to read the rest of the ingredients.

However, a day later, we were called up by some friends who informed us that those sweets we all had were in fact haram!

One of the younger sisters read the whole thing and saw that it contained cochineal. (Insect blood)

What an utter waste.

Always make sure your read the full ingredients and don't be misled by one mention of halal.

 

Sweets in questions:

Ingredients to be uploaded when possible on next post.

report post quote code quick quote reply
+3 -0
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,923
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 4th September 2017 09:30

(Apologies for the delay in uploading photo, possibly an issue with browser)
Ingredients:
Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Corn Starch, Halal Beef Gelatine, Acids: Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Flavourings, Fruit and Vegetable Concentrates: Radish, Tomato, Apple, Pumpkin, Carrot, Blackcurrant, Colours: Cochineal, Titanium Dioxide

What is Cochineal? See link here
IMAG3221_1-20170904-092520977.jpg
Downloads: 160
    [62.77 kB]
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,537
Brother
107
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 4th September 2017 11:41

abu mohammed wrote:
View original post

Can you contact the company and point this out? They have obviously gone to some length to fetch "Halal" ingredients.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,923
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 4th September 2017 14:11
Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post

I will do, that was my next step.

Edit: emailed candy@candykittens.co.uk

Any response will be added inshaAllah.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,923
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 4th September 2017 16:05
Email sent but found out that they were not intended to target a Muslim/Halal diet. Neither was it being sold as a Halal sweet (fair and true)

There have already been a few complaints to the ASA in the last few days.

Quote:
Candy Kittens, the confectionary brand owned by Made in Chelsea star Jamie Laing, has had a slap on the wrist from the advertising watchdog for implying all of its products were halal certified.

The sweet-maker, which sells treats online as well as in stores around the UK including Tesco, Waitrose and Selfridges, provoked three complaints from the public to the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) after the FAQ page on its site claimed that the brand was halal friendly.

Text underneath explained why the company used Halal, but complainants noted that some sweets on the site contained cochineal - an ingredient made from extracts of crushed insect, which is forbidden by Islamic law.

They added that the advertiser was not a member of an official halal certification authority, and as such challenged whether the claims made on the FAQ page were misleading.

While Candy Kittens argued that it had since updated its site to reflect that its products were not halal friendly after being made aware of the issue, the ASA upheld the complaints.

The regulator said the initial assertion on the Candy Kittens' site that the sweets were suitable for consumers who followed a halal-only diet, was misleading to consumers on the basis that the sweets contained cochineal - because no documentary evidence suggested otherwise.

"We told Candy Kittens not to make claims that stated or suggested that its products were suitable for a halal-only diet and were halal certified, unless that was the case and could be supported with documentary evidence," said the ASA.

Source: The Drum (website found via google search)
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What letters are in the word in blue?