Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

Frylight Oil

You have contributed 0.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
abu mohammed
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,528
Brother
9,089
abu mohammed's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 1st February 2017 16:47

Verdict http://www.muftisays.com/forums/82-the-food-section/11340-frylight-oil.html?p=110930#110930

 

 

Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta'ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Respected Sister or Brother
 
Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer: 
Assalamu alaikum, 
 
The Foodguide follows the opinion of major contemporary Hanafi scholars including the venerable Mufti Yusuf Sacha of the UK (highly acclaimed foods expert) and Mufti Ashraf Usmani of Pakistan.   The fatwa in our times is that synthetic alcohols (and all alcohol not considered 'khamr') in foods and otherwise is pure (tahir), and permitted to use and consume on the conditions that: 
 
(a) it is not used as an intoxicant; 
(b) it is not used as intoxicants as used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little); 
(c) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates; 
(d) it is not used in vain (lahw). 
Courtesy: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani
 
This is the view propounded by the Foodguide service and rest assured that it is of sound Hanafi scholarship.  Nevertheless, if you are a follower of a Maz-hab (school of thought) apart from the Hanafi School or you prefer to refrain from such products then that is fine too.  We will try to facilitate such persons by indicating which products are affected on this web-site as far as possible.
 
Related Reading:
 
 
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
 
Was-Salaamualaikum
Foodguide Services
 
 

Ingredients

Allergy Advice: For allergens see highlighted ingredients

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (53%), Water, Alcohol, Emulsifier: Sunflower Lecithin, Natural Flavouring, Thickener: Xanthan Gum

Dietary Information

Suitable for Vegetarians; Suitable for Vegans

 
According to the website, the Alcohol in the product is evaporated
"The ingredients contain alcohol - why?

A small amount of alcohol is used to help preserve the product. The alcohol is removed when heated (by evaporation) during cooking."

 

However, we see that jusRoll has alcohol in its ingredients and is Haram even though it is less than 1% and other foods, such as Walkers Crisps have Alcohol, but it is Halal. (We are still waiting for Brother Muadh to get clarification and confirmation about it being haram since other Ulama have considered it Halal)

So the question here is, Is this FryLight Oil Halal or Haram?

Will it be Halal because its not a frozen product? Or is this going in the Haram list of foods?

 

(Older thread with no firm answer)

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,528
Brother
9,089
abu mohammed's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd February 2017 08:54
Response from the manufacturers:

Dairy Crest wrote:
Good Morning

Thank you for contacting us regarding the alcohol within Frylight

The alcohol used in Frylight is 5% beet alcohol (fermented from sugar beets) when this happens this is called Ethanol.

A small amount of alcohol is used to help preserve the product. The alcohol is completely removed when heated (by evaporation) during cooking.

I do hope this information help and I hope you will continue to enjoy Frylight.

Kind regards

Claire

Consumer Care Advisor


Now if someone can further clarify :)
Posted via the Muftisays Android App
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,528
Brother
9,089
abu mohammed's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd February 2017 09:30
Quote:

Ethanol Alcohol being extracted from sugar canes

After reading Q&A about ethanol in sandwiches I feel it is necessary to bring to your attention that alcohol derived from sugar cane is in fact intoxicating and I am including a link to clarify this.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rum

With this in mind, would the sandwiches still be halal to eat if the amount of ethanol isn’t enough to intoxicate?

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.

Answer
Synthetic alcohols and all alcohol besides those which are not extracted from dates and grapes in foods are permissible to use and consume as long as it is not used to intoxicate.

Therefore, if the amount of ethanol in the food is intoxicating then it will not be permissible to consume that food, otherwise it will.

This is because alcohol extracted from sugar canes falls under the category of Khamr Ghair Haqeeqi (i.e. non khamr) and alcohol extracted from dates and grapes fall under Khamr Haqeeqi.

Saaiduna Abu Hurairah Radiallahu Anhu narrates that the Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalam said “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes.” (Sahih Muslim p.167 v.2)

Only Allah Knows Best

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham.
daruliftabirmingham.co.uk/ethanol-alcohol-being-extracted...[/quote]

Quote:
Q: Sugar alcohol is used as an artificial flavor in several cake mixes. Is it Halal or not?

A: Haamidaw wa Musalliyaa

In terms of information at our disposal, sugar alcohols are permissible for Halal consumption. The said alcohols occur naturally in plants. Some of them are extracted from plants e.g. sorbitol from corn syrup and mannitol from seaweed, but they are mostly manufactured from sugars and starches. Maltitol, xylitol, and sorbitol are all sugar alcohols.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Shafiq Jakhura (Mufti)
Fatwa Dept.

Source


[quote]Question
You have mentioned in a number of responses that Ethanol is permissible as it is not an intoxicant. However from the sources I have come across, they all seem to indicate that it is? Could you confirm whether all Ethanol is allowed in all cases.

Answer
In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful
Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatoh

Regarding your query, it seems to be based on a misconception. i.e." if something taken in a large quantity is an intoxicant then it is Haram even in a small quantity". While this is the opinion of some Ulama, the illustrious Fuqaha of the Hanafi Mazhab don't hold this view.

According to the Hanafi Mazhab, alcohols are divided into 2 groups Khamr and non Khamr. Khamr can be said to be alcohol derived from dates and grapes while non-khamr is alcohol not derived from any of these two . Now according to the Hanafi school of Fiqh, the ruling regarding Khamr is that even the most minuscule amount of it is haraam, regardless of whether it intoxicates or not, while the ruling considering other alcohols is that only that amount is haraam which intoxicates.

A small amount which doesn't cause intoxication is not haraam. The only condition is that it must not be drunk for amusement and pastime in a manner resembling that of the fussaaq (major sinners). If it is drank to gain strength, to digest the food, for medical reasons etc then it is permissible as long as it does not intoxicate. The point you mentioned ie. ." if something taken in a large quantity is an intoxicant then it is Haram even in a small quantity" this is taken to apply only to Khamr, while all other alcohols would only be haraam in an amount that could intoxicate.

Thus if you see the answers we give, we clearly state that alcohols made from things other than dates and grapes are permissible as long as they are in such a small amount that couldn't intoxicate eg. most softdrinks contain minuscule amounts of ethanol, however this is classified as permissible as even if one drinks so much of a particular softdrink that he cannot possibly drink a sip more, even the person with the lowest alcohol tolerance would not become intoxicated. (See Al-hidayah Vol.2 Pg.497, Ahkaamul Quraan liljassaas Vol.2 Pg.5, Bahrur Raaiq Vol.8 Pg.247,Shaami Vol.6 Pg.452-H.M.Saeed, Mabsoot Vol.24 Pg.15, Bada'i Vol.5 Pg.113, Tabyeen Vol.6 Pg.46, Tuhfatul Fuqaha Vol.3 Pg.325, Alamgiri Vol.5 Pg.412, Shilbi alat Tabyeen Vol.6 Pg.47, Ahsanul Fatawa Vol.8 Pg.488)

We hope that this has clarified the matter for you.

In case any further clarity is needed feel free to contact us.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows

Wassalam

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah
askimam.org/public/question_detail/10761.html


And ALL you ned to know about Alcohol in our daily lives www.central-mosque.com/index.php/General-Fiqh/alcohol-its...
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,528
Brother
9,089
abu mohammed's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 6th February 2017 12:41
Response from SANHA

Quote:
Muhtaram,

Wa ‘alaykumus-Salaam w.w

Jazakumullah Khairan for your email correspondence and for the opportunity to be of service to you. We advise as follows:

Our position regarding alcohol usage in the manufacture of products is as follows:

Alcohol - The use of alcohol in flavours is very widespread and common across the spectrum of the food and beverage industry. The following background however, should be borne in mind with regards alcohol:

* Khamr Asli - in the terminology of the Jurists of Islam refers to alcoholic intoxicant beverages derived from grapes, dates and raisins. This type is both Haraam and Najis (impure; napaak). In addition to this, any other 'intoxicating beverage' would also fall within the purview of prohibition (Hurmah).

* Ethanol - this type of alcohol is derived from various sources including sugar cane, starch, coal, etc. and is used as a solvent extraction agent, propellant etc. This type is not deemed Najis (impure) and its use in industrial applications as manufacturing aids is condoned. Accordingly, its presence in 'residual/trace levels' in food and beverage products does not render such products Haraam.

Ethyl alcohol may also naturally be found in fruit juices and is also generated in the baking process with yeast fermentation.

It is also widely used in the personal care, cosmetic and perfume industry.

Nabeez (date juice mentioned in hadith) would also contain trace levels of ethanol which is condoned. Yes, when it is allowed to ferment to the extent that the ethanol content creates Sukraan (intoxication),such beverage would then become Haraam.

And Allah Knows Best.

Was-Salaam

Consumer Department
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What letters are in the word in blue?