Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

Haram Ingredients

You have contributed 0.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
Taalibah
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,912
Brother
9,212
abu mohammed's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 19th January 2017 14:51
(salaam)

I have noticed a trend in the change of ingredients over a few years and have seen many E-Numbers being removed from the ingredients.

There was a time when we use to have (and some still do) a list of Haram E-Numbers.

Some ingredients are Haram but may still turn up in the food labelled as "Suitable for Vegeterians".

Some ingredients sound Halal but are in fact Haram.

Another major issue is the terminology or wording used for the ingredients. Many people just assume it's Halal.

I have tried to find a full list of the ingredients that are Haram but can only find bits and pieces of information here and there.

I would like to post as many Haram/Doubtful ingredients in one post for easy access to everyone. Other posts can go into details as to what the ingredient actually is and if there are other threads on that ingredient, then we can link it.

Anyone who posts an ingredeint that is Haram or doubtful, then inshaAllah the post will be updated and the new ingredient will be added to the list.

There are lists by others, but unfortunately they do not cover all the ingredients.

For example:



This list is missing a few very common items that we have in the UK.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,912
Brother
9,212
abu mohammed's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 19th January 2017 14:52

If it's not here, it doesn't mean it's Halal.

Alcohol

Animal Fat

Ale

Beer batter

Collagen

Cochineal

Carmine

Diglyceride

Gelatin / Gelatine

Edible Bone Phosphate

EnzymeEthanol

Ethyl

Glyceride (if animal)

Glycerol (if animal)

Glycerin (if animal)

Lecithin

Disodium inosinate

Disodium 5'-ribonucleotides

Sucrose esters of fatty acids

Alfa-Carotene

Beta-Carotene

Gamma-Carotene

Mono and Di-Glycerides of fatty acids

Lactic acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids

Sycroglycerides

Polyglycerol esters of Fatty acids

Propane-1,2-idol esters of fatty acids

Lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerolInsine

Disodium Phospate

Sodium and Inosinate

L-Cysteine Hydrochloride

L-Cysteine hydrochloride mono hydrate

SHELLAC NO LONGER DEEMED HARAM

MAGNESIUM STEARATE

report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top
Rank Image
muslimman's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
214
Brother
285
muslimman's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 5th January 2022 00:13
abu mohammed wrote:
View original post


In this post you mentioned Lecithin as one of the haraam ingredients. In the first post, Lecithin is only considered haraam if it comes from an animal source. Why the contradiction?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,912
Brother
9,212
abu mohammed's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 5th January 2022 10:56
muslimman wrote:
View original post

Better to be safe than sorry.

If it can be plant based or animal based, it would be better to investigate this further. You may find that an item has this in its ingredients, but is suitable for vegans, for example, then you would know that it is most likely plant based.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
muslimman's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
214
Brother
285
muslimman's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 7th January 2022 06:27
abu mohammed wrote:
View original post


Thank you for explaining. That's what I thought too.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What colour is the text 'ABC' written in?