THEY USE "BEER BATTER" OR FRY WITH OTHER MEATS! PLEASE CHECK FIRST
On my visit to westfield in Stratford, London. The kids wanted to eat fish and chips, so I queued up only to be told by the person at the counter that the fish was Haram. I'm not sure if he was Muslim, could've been a Hindu. This was then confirmed by another non-muslim also serving at the tills, he also said to me that they weren't halal.
Alhumdulillah, the beard gave away the identity of being a Muslim once again.
Once I was told that it was not halal, I didn't bother asking any questions, but the guy at the counter said the food gets mixed with the chicken, beef and other stuff. He also said that "sometimes its halal depending on who's here"
Safest thing to do is leave it, go for a Halal Subway or Halal Jacket Potatoe
By the way this was at Harry Ramsden on the lower ground floor.
READ MORE FROM OTHERS TOO, CLICK HERE
Beer batter
Veg
Ingredients
250g/8oz plain flour
60g/2oz cornflour
300ml/10fl oz sparkling ale
300ml/10fl oz soda water
Preparation method
-
Place the flours in a large bowl and whisk together.
-
Add the beer and soda water and mix to incorporate.
-
Whisk vigorously to get rid of any lumps.
-
Let stand for 10 minutes and then whisk again for 30 seconds.
-
If for some reason there are still lumps, simply strain them out.
-
The batter will fry crisper if no salt is added and it is not refrigerated.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/beerbatter_7193
Clearly labelled as VEG but contains a whopping 300ml of ALE!!!!!!!!!!