Source: http://qa.muftisays.com/?4074
Question ID: #4074
 
Question: Gelatin is it permisserble
salam can you tell me that if Gelatin is haram or hallal jazakallah just in a simple question
 
 
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 03 (UK)
Date: 27/05/2007 23:30pm

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume. As a rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless proved otherwise. Fish gelatine is suitable as a substitute. Generally porcine or bovine based gelatine is commonly used which is Haraam.


And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk


(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide
 
www.MuftiSays.com