Question ID: #2906
Question: cheddar cheese crisps
assalamu alaikum can you plz tell me if the walkers cheddar cheese flavoured crisps are halal or not? Ingredients:
Potatoes, sunflower oil, cheddar cheese flavour [lactose(from milk), flavour enhancers (monosodium glutamate, disodium guanylate, disodium inosinate), flavourings, cheese powder made from animal rennet, milk proteins, colour [paprika extract)], salt.
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 03 (UK)
Date: 03/12/2006 22:24pm

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Jazakallahu Khayran for your query. Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide