Source: http://qa.muftisays.com/?2855
Question ID: #2855
 
Question: explanations
Respected Elders,

Assalmu-alaykum Warahmatullah.

if alcohol if formed from wheat, barley etc, etc and not from dates or grapes, and found in food, medication or toiletry items such as body sprays face creams etc, etc. is this Halal or Haraam

May Allah elevate the Ummah.

Jazzakallah.

 
 
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 03 (UK)
Date: 07/12/2006 21:25pm

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Cosmetic alcohols:As a rule, alcohols (as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes) for external use in the form of medicines or beauty products are permissible.

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
www.foodguide.org.uk


(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide
 
www.MuftiSays.com