Q&A Home » Food Related

Food on which the name of others than Allah has been mentioned

Last updated: 30th October 2006
Question ID: #2923
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page

Is it allowed to eat prayed food which are not meat, but are sweets or biscuits or coconut usually shared during hindu festival divali?

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Partaking of such foods is not permissible, as they constitute taking part in a religious festival. If you are offered such sweets, then politely decline, citing an excuse which would not offend them.

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

Answer last updated on:
3rd January 2007
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Location: UK