Q&A Home » Food Related

Difinitions

Last updated: 20th October 2006
Question ID: #2853
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page


 
Respected Elders,

Assalmu-alaykum Warahmatullah.

I heard that the scientific term for alcohol in vinegar is different from the definition given by the shari'ah, if so then what is it and why is it?

May Allah elevate the Ummah.

Jazzakallah.



Bismillah

Al-jawab billahi at-taufeeq (the answer with Allah's guidance)



Vinegar in Shari'ah

When a substance changes and becomes another substance, the ruling regarding it changes as well. Example, juice (Halal) becomes wine (Haram) then becomes vinegar (Halal). (Nurul Idhah Pg. 54, Hashiat Tahtawi Pg. 165)

Please also refer to: http://www.muftisays.com/qa.php?viewpage=viewQA&question=451


Therefore, it is permissible to consume vinegar made from wine as long as the origin and effects of alcohol, e.g. intoxication, are altered and transformed.


Narrated Jabir ibn Abdullah


Allah's Messenger (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) asked his family for sauce. They (the members of his household) said: We have nothing with us but vinegar. He asked for it, he began to eat it, and then said: Vinegar is a good sauce, vinegar is a good sauce. (Muslim)

Note: The ruling about vinegar is general (Aam) in this Hadith, he did not exclude any type of vinegar.


Prophet (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) said: The best of your vinegar is your wine vinegar. (Sunan al-Bayhaq, Nasbur Rayah)


(See also: I'laus Sunan Vol. 18 Pg. 43, Raddul Mukhtar Vol. 5 Pg. 320, Badai' Vol.5 Pg.113, Takmilah Fathul Mulhim Vol. 3 Pg. 612)

(Darse Tirmidhi Vol. 4 Pg.196,197)




And Only Allah Ta'ala Knows Best.

Mufti
Answer last updated on:
25th June 2008
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 04
Website
Location: London