Q&A Home » Food Related

WHEY

Last updated: 3rd October 2006
Question ID: #2619
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page


 
Assalam-o-Alikum
Mufti Saheb
My question is abt the WHEY .How many types of whey are Halal and wht enzymes standsfor .becz i search lots of place but i couldn't get the the explanation.
JazakallahKhair



In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Jazakallahu Khayran for your query. Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20


And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
www.foodguide.org.uk

Mufti
Answer last updated on:
7th December 2006
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Website
Location: UK