Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

Ingredients in McDonald's Fries

You have contributed 31.6% of this topic

Thread Tools
Topic Poll
should we eat from Mc donalds?






Please vote to view the results or click here to see results
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
queenie, sweetmuslimahk1
3 guests appreciate this topic.
Rank Image
sweetmuslimahk1's avatar
Offline
manchester
576
Sister
556
sweetmuslimahk1's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 24th April 2011 21:41
It is important to note that McDonald's voluntarily provides nutrition and ingredient information on its products, and we have always followed Food and Drug Administration (FDA) guidelines for labeling to be consistent with other U.S. food retailers and packaged goods who provide nutrition and ingredient information.

However, some customers have told us they want more information about our products than what we previously provided. So now, in our nutrition materials, we are including the source of our "natural flavorings." For core menu products in the U.S., customers are now able to find out if a natural flavor comes from a meat, vegetable or dairy source. This updated Nutrition Facts Brochure is available in our U.S. restaurants and on our website at: www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nutrition.categories.ing...

With regard to our French fries, any customer in the U.S. who contacts McDonald's Corporation to ask if they contain beef flavoring is told "yes." For flavor enhancement, in the U.S., McDonald's French fry suppliers use a very small amount of beef flavor as a natural flavoring during the par-frying process at the potato processing plant. In the restaurant, the French fries are cooked in vegetable oil.

In addition, we have no plans to change the way we prepare our French fries in the U.S. However, it is important to know that our French fries are prepared differently in other countries.

Additionally, we do have a restaurant located in Dearborn, Michigan were they have begun to offer halal foods. The first item that was offered was the "halal nuggets". We also offer the Filet-O-Fish sandwich which is considered an "halal" item as well. Although the "halal nuggets" are not currently a national menu item, you may wish to speak directly with your local McDonald's and voice your concerns for additional items that are "halal".

Again, thank you for contacting McDonald's. We look forward to serving you for years to come.

Beverly
McDonald's Customer Response Center

ref#:2117098

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Yasin's avatar
UK
6,562
Brother
1,370
Yasin's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 24th April 2011 22:21
Best option for a Muslim: Do not eat from there. All problems solved.

Jazakillah for posting this information.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,849
Brother
9,184
abu mohammed's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 25th April 2011 11:39
As you have rightly pointed out that the above is based on American Fries. There were many emails going round in UK with same info. With such an absurd ingredient for a veg, it would be impossible to be suitable for vegeterians.

There were many muslims who would only buy fries and some times the fillet o fish burger and then would be talked about in a very bad way.

As Maulana Yasin also rightly says "Dont eat from there" is the safest and best option.

How ever many years ago, my brother dug deep into all the ingredients of the possible Halal items at Mcdonalds and he found that......Also some takeaways would have a form of contamination therefore he would only "if needed" buy from those outlets that had Muslim staff who would say if there was any form of contamination.

I will find the email in response to the above beef flavouring and post it here.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,849
Brother
9,184
abu mohammed's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 25th April 2011 11:42
-----Original Message-----
From: McDonald's Customer Services
Sent: Wednesday, July 14, 2010 14:10
To: ..................
Subject: Reference: 1103049


Dear...................

Thank you for your recent email regarding our menu items and the food we serve at McDonald's.

In answer to your specific enquiry, I would like to assure you that the French Fries served here in the UK contain no traces of animal flavourings and are not precooked.

McDonald's French Fries are cooked in a new non- hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil, making them 100 percent vegetarian-friendly. You may also be interested to know that our French Fries are fully approved by the Vegetarian Society.

A full listing of ingredients for all our Menu items is available at www.mcdonalds.co.uk.
Please refer to the 'Food' section and follow the links for the 'Nutrition & Ingredients List' for further information.

Should you require any further clarification on our menu items or on any other aspect of our business then please do not hesitate to revisit our web site or alternatively telephone us on the number below.

Regards

Christine Coleman
Internet Response Team

McDonald's Customer Services Department
11 - 59 High Road
East Finchley
London
N2 8AW

Tel: 08705 244622

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,849
Brother
9,184
abu mohammed's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 25th April 2011 11:54
Do your own research please.

Weather seasons forces a change in some cases
.

FILET-o-FISH
BUN

E472e; NOT SURE:
Main use is as a dough conditioner in yeast raised bakery products (breads), hot chocolate mix, gravy granules and frozen pizza

E282; HALAL:
Mould Inhibitor in flour products

E300; HALAL:
Found in butter, frozen egg products, powdered and concentrated milk, croquette potatoes, thinned baby foods, cured meat, breakfast cereals and frozen fish.

FISH

E466; HALAL:

CHEESE

E331; HALAL:
Sodium salt of citric acid, acidity regulator and sequestrant. Found in gelatine products, jam, sweets, ice cream, carbonated beverages, milk powder, processed cheese.

E450; HALAL:
Salts of sodium/potassium/calcium with phosphates. Synthetic. Used as bread enhancer and calcium supplement.

E452; HALAL:
Same as above: used to retain water during processing and storage.

E200; HALAL:
Occurring naturally in some fruits.

E160a; NOT SURE;
Orange/yellow plant pigment in carrots, green. Some manufacturers use gelatine with this
.

E160c; HALAL:
An orange red colour extracted from the fruit and seeds of red pepper. Banned in Australia.

TARTARE SAUCE

E1422; HALAL:
Prepared by treating starch with acetic acid.

E260; HALAL:
Used for its antibacterial properties, acidity stabiliser, diluting colourings, flavouring agent and for inhibiting mould growths.

E415; HALAL:
A natural carbohydrate.

E202; HALAL:
An antifungal and antibacterial manufactured by neutralisation of sorbic acid.


MILK SHAKE
Although some say that the stawberry shake is not suitable from vegeterians. (I was told this by a Muslim who worked there and also by a Hindu that once served me many many years ago and recognised me as a Muslim)

E412; HALAL:
Guar Gum.

E407; HALAL:
Extracted from red seaweed. Used in dressings, prepared meat, fish, flavoured milk, cheese, sour cream, infant formula.

E410; HALAL:
Extracted from the carob tree.

E100; HALAL:
Used in systems that are packed to protect from Sun light.

E330; HALAL:
Manufactured by fermentation of cane sugar.

E160c; HALAL: as before.

E202; HALAL: as before.

E322; DEPENDS: (in this case HALAL)
HALAL if it is from soy fat or egg yolk;
HARAM if it is from animal fat.
In bread and bakery products it increases volume and also acts as an anti stalling agent. Only the producer can provide details of origin.

E150; HALAL:
The caramel group of colours.

E162; HALAL:
Extracts from beetroot.

E150d: Same as E150.

ALL OF THE E NUMEBERS ARE FROM ALL THE INGREDIENTS GIVEN BY MCDONALDS.

THE RESULT OF ALL THE E NUMBERS ARE FROM HALAL FOOD GUIDE.

AS YOU CAN SEE, THE CHEESE CONTAINS E160a, which is doubtful and THE BUN CONTAINS E472e which is unknown.

Maulana Yasin wrote:
Best option for a Muslim: Do not eat from there. All problems solved.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,849
Brother
9,184
abu mohammed's avatar
#6 [Permalink] Posted on 25th April 2011 12:11
I forgot to mention that the Halal Chicken served at the Halal McDonalds ARE NOT HALAL, they are/were certified by HFA. THe method used to slaughter the chicken in this case was the same as KFC.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,849
Brother
9,184
abu mohammed's avatar
#7 [Permalink] Posted on 25th April 2011 18:45
Can you add more options to the poll.

e.g.
Not Sure
Will dig deeper
only drinks (milkshakes)
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#8 [Permalink] Posted on 25th May 2011 12:24
Wrt the cheese here what their website says to a questions:-

Q9. is the cheese in the fillet of fish burger suitable for vegeterains.thank you

A: Yes, McDonald's uses vegetarian cheddar cheese in the Filet-o-Fish. Here's a list of ingredients of the cheese slice: Vegetarian cheddar cheese (55%), water, butter, whey powder, milk proteins, natural cheese, flavouring, emulsifying salts (E331 trisodium citrate, E450 diphosphates, E452 polyphosphates), salt, preservative (E200 sorbic acid), colour (E160a natural carotenes, E160c paprika extract).
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#9 [Permalink] Posted on 25th May 2011 12:29
...and heres what they say about the bun...

Q8: I would like to know if the buns and cheese used in the filet o fish are suitable for vegetarians. I am aware that in the USA, the buns and cheese contain 'enzymes', are these plant-based or animal derived?

A: Good news, the cheese and burger buns used by McDonald's UK are suitable for vegetarians. Additionally both the McDonald's Milkshakes and Fries are suitable and have been approved by the Vegetarian Society. (September 2009)
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,849
Brother
9,184
abu mohammed's avatar
#10 [Permalink] Posted on 25th May 2011 12:38
Jazakallah for clearing the fillet up.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#11 [Permalink] Posted on 10th August 2011 15:48
So does this mean that it is permissible to eat the Fillet O fish? If Mcdonald's says that all ingredients in the Fillet O fish burger are suitable for vegetarians, then surely it is permissible?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#12 [Permalink] Posted on 11th August 2011 15:44
The high risk of contamination with Haraam meat products
Even IF we were to assume (hypothetically) that 80% of products in a non-Muslim fast-food restaurant were 100% Halaal, even then we can not expect them to guarantee us with certainty that these products will be Halaal when handed to us; we would be gullible to expect this. Takeaways like these do not aim to cater for specific dietary eligious groups but instead specialise in providing the customer with 'FAST food'. As fast as they can get it to you so that they can serve the next customer. We suspect that there would be a high risk of cross contamination with the variety of meat products. Don't take my word for it, hear it from the people who have worked there. Though there are based on comments from the USA nevertheless they could quite easily be applied here in the UK. To quote:

Ray Marsh ranch hand Member # 217 posted May 05, 2001 09:58 AM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I worked at McDs. Grease gets air born everything gets grease on it. You eat something that's cooked in oil you cannot assume that it is 100% vegetable. In fact if it was pure, in the container, I doubt it would be after sitting open in a cooker all day, in the same kitchen where 100s of burgers and other meat products are being cooked.

Andy Ceponis ranch hand Member # 6999 posted May 05, 2001 10:40 AM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Like I said earlier this is America. Most people in America like things a certain way, and guess what...... companies cater to us. If they had to cater to every little segment of the population it would be to expensive even for a company like McDonalds to be in business. ....And since obviously all the vegetarians have been eating meat products this whole time(even without knowing it) it cannot be all THAT bad..... I used to work at McDonalds when I was 15. And I can tell you that if you have ever eaten there, you have eaten meat in one form or another. Even if it is just oil with meat bits or flavoring in it. The oil gets everywhere(on buns, condiments, all the machinery). And it was common practice(as im sure it is at all the mickeyd's) that when someone ordered a hamburger with no meat all we did was take the patty off the bun and repackage it. Sorry to say that, but back then I used to do it all the time because it was faster, and the faster I could get done the faster I could get to go downstairs and have take my break.

As a benediction we reproduce the following:

SANHA VERDICT: Eating Out
'Whilst the 'Eating-Out' trend is growing, Muslims are urged to exercise great caution when frequenting non-Muslim owned RESTAURANTS / PIZZA PARLOURS / HOTELS, etc. A vegetable pizza and / or seafood dish can be easily polluted with wine, Haraam meats, other Haraam ingredients and contaminated utensils etc.

Remember the Shari'ah does not permit you to eat from restaurants which serve alcohol. Preserve your Imaan - watch what and where you eat.'

MFG:
Take-Aways and Eating Out
"Many people eat take-away meals nowadays and this is something the Muslim Community will have to live with in the future. Muslims are however urged to exercise great caution when eating in non-Muslim outlets as there is very little or NO awareness regarding Halaal. A vegetarian pizza or fillet-o-fish can be can be contaminated by utensils or even filtered oil!"

Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service. Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.

... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Was-Salaamualaikum
Foodguide Services

foodguide . o r g
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#13 [Permalink] Posted on 20th July 2012 14:22
I have been searching alot in the last few days about McDonalds! It is not halal but can be vegetarian !
Eat vegetarian!
Simple!!!
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#14 [Permalink] Posted on 20th July 2012 16:25
Is it ok to have milkshakes n ice cream
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
sweetmuslimahk1's avatar
Offline
manchester
576
Sister
556
sweetmuslimahk1's avatar
#15 [Permalink] Posted on 20th July 2012 16:29

"Maulana Yasin" wrote:
Best option for a Muslim: Do not eat from there. All problems solved..[/quote]

Whether Veg or not, Its best not to eat there!, No one Knows if the people who cook the food may put the veggie stuff mixed with the meat when frying!

so as repeated again,

 

[quote="Maulana Yasin"]Best option for a muslim: Do not eat from there. All Problems solved..

report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What part of the day is the background image (it's not day)?