Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

is fabbri rum and raisan ice cream flavouring halal?

You have contributed 0.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
1
Unspecified
1
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 15th September 2009 14:03
assalumu alaikum,
i just wanted to ask if the company fabbri's rum and raisan halal?
it will be very much appreciated if answared as soon as possible.
jazakamullahu khair
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
no-username's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
596
Unspecified
134
no-username's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 15th September 2009 14:13

Salaam

I'd never even heard of the company before your post, but after Googling it, I sent them a message asking which of their ice creams were suitable for a vegetarian diet and which were free from alcohol.


The company is not on the GMWA Food Guide database, otherwise that would be your first port of call.

Feel free to email them yourself using the form on the following page: uppermidwestgourmet.com/contact-us/

Fee amaanillah
Was-salaam

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
no-username's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
596
Unspecified
134
no-username's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 15th September 2009 18:28
Salaam

Maa shaa Allah, they replied very promptly. But, they only provided a list of gluten-free and lactose-free products.

The product in question (Rum Raisin (Malaga Marsala) Fabbri Delipaste) is both gluten-free and lactose-free.

Assuming you have the product at hand, perhaps the best thing would be to email the GMWA the full ingredients list, and ask that they verify its status.

Hope that helps.

Fee amaanillah
Was-salaam
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
no-username's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
596
Unspecified
134
no-username's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 15th September 2009 18:50

Final note on the query:


Given that Fabbri manufacture a product called "Zuppa Inglese (Trifle) (Rum soaked triple layer cake with layers of fruit, chocolate and custard)" in which they clearly use Rum as an ingredient, it's difficult to imagine that they would not use Rum in their 'Rum and Raisin' cream paste. Especially as they are evidently at the top end of their market.


Rum is an alcohol which is produced from sugar-cane molasses/juice.


Referring to the GMWA's list for Walls Ice Creams, it can be established that Rum is haraam: http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=171



"(HARAAM)
Carte D'or True Taste 5L Rum & Raisin
Carte D'or 5.5L Rum&Raisin Artiscoop
(Contains rum)
Carte D'or 5.5L Tiramisu Artiscoop new recipe 2009
(contains Marsala wine)"


And Allah knows best.


Hadith (Jaami' as-Sahih): Da' maa yureebuk ilaa maa laa yureebuk


Leave that which gives you doubt, for that which does not give you doubt.


Disclaimer: All of the above is simply the input of a layperson, intended only to provide assistance to the questioner.

report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1
back to top
no-username's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
596
Unspecified
134
no-username's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 15th September 2009 20:35
Re: Upper Midwest Gourmet contact form: Ice Creams - vegetarian diet‏
From: msapplen22@gmail.com on behalf of Michael Applen (michael@uppermidwestgourmet.net)
Sent: 15 September 2009 19:16:00
To:
Yes, the rum raisin does contain liquor.
Which products were you curious about with regards to animal origin?
Thanks,

On Tue, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:53 PM, Shaheda ... aka ... shahly wrote:
Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for your prompt response.

Unfortunately, the information provided does not actually answer my query which related to suitability for a vegetarian diet.

In particular, I wish to know whether your Rum & Raisin Delipaste Cream (Marsala Malaga) contains actual Rum and also whether it contains any ingredients of animal origin.

I look forward to your reply and hope that you will be able to help me further.

Kind regards,

Shaheda




http://www.muslim-games.co.uk
Kalimaat ! The new game from Baba Ali of ummahfilms
It's not what you know,
it's what you remember





Date: Tue, 15 Sep 2009 12:08:13 -0500
Subject: Re: Upper Midwest Gourmet contact form: Ice Creams - vegetarian diet
From: michael@uppermidwestgourmet.net
To:


Hello Shaheda,
Thanks so much for the inquiry. Here are a few lists of our Fabbri ingredients. There is a price guide, a gluten-free list, and a lactose-free list.
Please send me your contact information (business name, address, telephone, etc...) and I will set-up an account for you in our system.
Feel free to contact me for any reason.
Thanks again,

On Tue, Sep 15, 2009 at 8:10 AM, Shaheda wrote:

Hi,
Would you be able to advise me as to which of your ice creams are suitable
for a vegetarian diet and also, which of them are free from alcohol.
Thank you.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sender info:

IP: 92.24.73.99 <http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=92.24.73.99>
Browser/OS: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; WOW64; Trident/4.0;
SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.5.21022; .NET CLR
3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30618; MDDC)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------




--
Michael Applen
Western Sales Manager
Upper Midwest Gourmet
1901 Traffic St. NE
Minneapolis, MN 55413
Office: 612-728-7208
Cell: 612-743-3814
Fax: 612-728-7227
E-mail: michael@uppermidwestgourmet.com

Upper Midwest Gourmet
http://UpperMidwestGourmet.com

Flamenco Organic Coffee Company
http://FlamencoOrganic.com

Quarry Coffee Microroasters
http://QuarryMicroroasters.com

Right Roast
http://RightRoast.com
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top