Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 
Top Members

BEER with 0.0% Alcohol HARAM

You have contributed 29.8% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
#76 [Permalink] Posted on 11th February 2018 12:05
Asaaghir wrote:
View original post


Subhanallah! The predictions of Rasulullah (saw) are becoming true right before our very eyes. This article was moved to the Coca cola thread, but the following excerpts from that article are very relevant to this thread:

It is also alleged that since non-khamr alcohol is used in soft-drink manufacturer soft drinks should not be branded unlawful on account of the fact that according to Imaam Abu Hanifah (rahmatullah alayh) and Imaam Abu Yusuf (rahmatullah alayh) non-khamr alcohol is taahir and if taken in non-intoxicating quantities remains halaal. This argument is not acceptable for several reasons.

(1)It is accepted that the alcohol (ethanol) used in soft drink manufacture is not khamr. However, since the past 14 centuries the Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab has been on the view of Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh), viz. all alcohol, be it non-khamr, is haraam and najis. The Hanafi Fuqaha have for the past 14 centuries issued the Fatwa on this view of prohibition. Today there exists no pressing need to reverse this Muftabihi view of the Hanafi Math-hab. There is no valid reason for the desire to cancel the official and standing Fatwa of the Hanafi Math-hab in regard to alcohol and issue a new Fatwa in so far as minerals are concerned. Yes, it is conceded that there is such a need in regard to medicines since it is almost impossible to find any alcohol-free medicine. On account of the real need in regard to medicine, the Fatwa of permissibility based on the viewpoint of Shaikhain (rahmatullah alayh), issued by our senior Ulama is understandable and acceptable. But, there is no such need in regard to minerals. (And all the other junk food in which alcohol is ADDED to act as a solvent, carrier, boost the taste, flavouring and so on)

(2)By declaring soft drinks made from alcoholic concentrates halaal, a door to future fitnah is being opened up. In fact the stage is being prepared for future legalization of liquor as has been predicted by Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam).

(3)The Ruling (Fatwa) of the Hanafi Math-hab being on the view of Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayh) is based on the principle of blocking the avenue for future fitnah. Ignoring this ruling and principle in regard to the unnecessary luxury of Coke, (and all the other junk food in which alcohol is ADDED to act as a solvent, carrier, boost the taste, flavouring and so on) etc., the door for fitnah is being opened in that other drinks which are generally regarded as unlawful by all our Ulama, will also come within the scope of permissibility which has been accorded to soft drinks. Barbican Beer and similar other supposedly alcohol-free beers too contain the non-khamr ethanol. Although Barbican Beer, etc., are advertised ‘alcohol-free’ they do contain ethanol-alcohol in small quantities. In view of the alcohol in very small quantities, the authorities permit such beverages to be advertised ‘alcohol free’. See annexure D. To the best of our knowledge none of our Ulama has ventured to proclaim these ‘alcohol-free’ beers halaal. Yet, these beers contain ethanol in the same quantities as do the soft drinks. In fact, Barbican Beer contains a lesser quantity of alcohol than some soft drinks. Annexure ‘D’ states that Barbican Beer contains .03% alcohol. According to Annexure ‘C’ Sparletta Lemonade contain .04% alcohol; Raspberry contains .033%; Pineapple contains .04% and Cream Soda 05%. Thus, all these flavours have more alcohol than some of the beers which our Ulama regard to be haraam. Therefore, those who claim that Coke, etc., are halaal, have no logic and no reason for maintaining that Barbican Beer and other similar beers are haraam since the soft drinks (some or most of them) contain a greater quantity of the non-khamr ethanol-alcohol than these haraam beers. Hence, in proclaiming soft drinks halaal, the door has already been opened for declaring Barbican, etc. halaal.

(4) Let us take this argument a step further. Laager and Castle Beer are unanimously regarded as haraam by our Ulama. However these beers too contain the non-khamr ethanol. While Laager beer contains about 3.6% ethanol, soft drinks contain .058 ethanol. The difference is only in quantity. But, both contain the non-khamr ethanol. Laager and Castle beer taken on the basis of the principle employed by the legalizers of soft drinks, can also be declared ‘halaal’. Thus, the avenue for fitnah has been expanded to bring Laager, Castle and similar beers within the scope of the permissibility which has been applied to soft drinks.

(5) Let us progress further with this argument. Gin and Whiskey are unanimously proclaimed haraam by our Ulama. No Aalim so far has said that a small quantity of Gin and Whiskey is halaal. Yet, these liquors contain the self-same non-khamr ethanol which soft drinks contain. Gin and Whiskey taken in small quantities do not intoxicate. On the basis of the principle employed by the legalizers of soft drinks, Gin and Whiskey too should be ‘halaal’. Thus, the door for fitnah has been opened even wider to accommodate even Gin and Whiskey. The same argument will extend to Vodka and many other liquors which contain non-khamr ethanol and which do not intoxicate if taken in small quantities.

6) It should be understood that Rasulullah’s (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) prediction about the ‘legalizing of liquor’ will not take place overnight. It will be a gradual process – a process which has already been initiated by those who regard soft drinks to be halaal. The modernists and the ulama-e-soo’ will sooner or later set into motion the technicalities of Fiqhi principles to legalize all liquor on the basis of the non-khamr alcohol content and on the principle of small quantities which do not intoxicate. It is only short-sighted persons and those who are not concerned much with the morals of the Ummah who will venture to be so careless and proclaim soft drinks permissible without even having properly investigated the matter and without thinking of the future and of Rasulullah’s (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) prediction. Of importance regarding this issue is the fact that the view of even the Shaafi, Maliki and Hambali Math-habs conforms with the verdict of the Hanafi Math-hab, namely, all types of alcohol are najis and haraam.

Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) said: "Whatever intoxicates in a large quantity, even its little quantity is forbidden." "Every intoxicant is haraam."

It does not behove the Ulama to issue such verdicts which are of neither worldly nor spiritual benefit to the Ummah and serve only the purpose of boosting the monetary interests of the kuffaar.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
22,352
Brother
8,815
abu mohammed's avatar
#77 [Permalink] Posted on 27th February 2018 13:29
I had emailed Mufti Abdur Rahman a while back with a link to this thread and my detailed questions. He did reply and say that a video was going to be uploaded soon and that should suffice as an answer. if not then I could get back to him for more details.

For me, the answer does suffice considering it is a quick general answer to the public and not specific to what I had asked. However, others will no doubt bring out the if's and but's.

Alcohol Free Beers starting from 1 minute 30 seconds
Halalified YT Audio

Q&A: Alcohol Issues | Mufti Abdur-Rahman ibn Yusuf
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Winner x 1
back to top
Rank Image
bint e aisha's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
1,687
Sister
1,658
bint e aisha's avatar
#78 [Permalink] Posted on 4th March 2018 17:52
Screenshot_2018-03-04-22-46-08-1.png
Downloads: 87
    [96.17 kB]
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Winner x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
1
Sister
0
#79 [Permalink] Posted on 18th February 2019 14:39
Goodmorning!!!
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
22,352
Brother
8,815
abu mohammed's avatar
#80 [Permalink] Posted on 18th February 2019 14:44
Good afternoon (UK time).

Please see rules to help run a smooth forum. www.muftisays.com/forums/index.html
Signature also declined.

Business advertising is not allowed on MuftiSays without prior permission. Alternatively, you may wish to sponsor the site and promote your services by advertising with us
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
1,195
Brother
56
#81 [Permalink] Posted on 18th February 2019 18:25
Interesting read.

It's amazing how the concept of genuine difference of opinion is a foreign concept now.

One group of people will shove the strictest opinion down our throats and encourage us to embrace it out of taqwa. They will quote their scholar(s) who proclaim it is Wajib to accept their position, but then trash opposing fatwas like yesterdays newspaper. Where is the taqwa in that?

The ironic thing is you will get these strict scholars quoting other contemporary 'Ulema to corroborate and strengthen their position, but the minute they differ with them in another masla', then takfir is made upon them. You can't win.

How many Muslims here can honestly say they had the urge to consume booze after drinking a can of Pepsi or any soft drink?

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
bint e aisha's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
1,687
Sister
1,658
bint e aisha's avatar
#82 [Permalink] Posted on 22nd January 2020 17:15
Screenshot_20200122-221107.png
Downloads: 23
    [588.76 kB]
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Winner x 1
back to top
Rank Image
tasbeeh's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
94
Brother
63
tasbeeh's avatar
#83 [Permalink] Posted on 22nd January 2020 17:47
QUESTION

Salaam, will it be permissible to consume non-alcoholic drinks, like beer, wine etc? They do not intoxicate and contain minute amount if any alcohol at all.

ANSWER

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Non-alcoholic beer
Non-alcoholic beer starts out as regular alcoholic beer, thereafter the alcohol is removed from the beer.

Although numerous methods of production exist, most non-alcoholic beer is made by removing the alcohol from regular beer. This can be done in two ways:

1. It is boiled in order to evaporate the alcohol. This is possible because alcohol has a lower boiling point than water, making it easier to boil off. One method involves heating the beer, but this can significantly alter the flavor. When beer is heated, the alcohol in the beer starts to evaporate. To prevent the taste from changing, some breweries use vacuum distilling. This process uses a vacuum to lower alcohol's boiling point as much as possible. Instead of heating the beer to a hot temperature, the beer only reaches a fairly warm temperature. This technique helps to keep the flavors intact while reducing the alcohol content.

2. The second process is called reverse osmosis, and is the same method often used to purify drinking water. It doesn’t require any heating. The wine or beer is passed through a filter with pores so small that only alcohol and water (and a few volatile acids) can pass through. The alcohol is distilled out of the alcohol-water mix using conventional distillation methods, and the water and remaining acids are added back into the syrupy mixture of sugars and flavour compounds left on the other side of the filter. [1]

However, despite these two processes of removing the alcohol from the beer or wine, no amount of boiling or vacuum will ever completely remove all the alcohol, which is why even non-alcoholic beer will typically contain about 0.5% alcohol. One could attempt to remove the alcohol through distillation, but this would be a long and expensive process.

It should also be known that non-alcoholic beer often contains more alcohol than its label claims.

One study of 45 non-alcoholic beverages revealed that nearly 30% of them harbored more alcohol than stated. This same study found that 6 beers labelled 0.0% ABV (alcohol by volume) did contain alcohol at levels up to 1.8% ABV.[2]

Non-alcoholic beer is specifically marketed towards the Kuffaar and Fussaq who are accustomed to drinking normal beer. It has become a hallmark of the disbelievers and Fussaq. That is why non-alcoholic beer tastes the same as normal beer. This is further understood by the plethora of lite-beers available from all major alcohol manufacturing companies. Accordingly, one should refrain from all such non-alcoholic beers.

Non-alcoholic wine
The process of producing non-alcoholic wine is similar to that of non-alcoholic beer.It should be noted that intoxication itself is not the reason for the prohibition of wine. Rather it is due to clear prohibition found in the Ahadith:

عَنِ ابْنِ عَبَّاسٍ، قَالَ حُرِّمَتِ الْخَمْرُ بِعَيْنِهَا-(سنن النسائى-5684)

Translation: It was narrated that Ibn 'Abbas said:"Khamr was forbidden in and of itself-(Sunan Nasa’i-5684)

Therefore, wine and beer will remain impure and Haram irrespective of whether the alcohol is removed from it or not.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Mudassir Benish
Student Darul Iftaa
Houston, TX, U.S.A

Checked and Approved by, Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
report post quote code quick quote reply
+2 -0
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
1
Brother
0
#84 [Permalink] Posted on 4th May 2020 06:14
tasbeeh, thanks for sharing that.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What is the word in green?