Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

Taurine halal or haraam?

You have contributed 20.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
Rank Image
tasbeeh's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
100
Brother
74
tasbeeh's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 9th May 2017 23:04
What is taurine and is it halal or haraam. It's found in many energy drinks
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,531
Brother
9,090
abu mohammed's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 9th May 2017 23:19
tasbeeh wrote:
View original post

It's an artificial chemical given the same name of the real thing which is found in bulls etc.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 10th May 2017 09:05
Softdrinks are not Halal, dont worry about the bull semen that they have started to mix with it. Just dont consume the poisonous filth. Your Body and Iman will be better for it InshaAllah
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,531
Brother
9,090
abu mohammed's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 10th May 2017 09:26
InRamadanAvoidTh wrote:
View original post

Quote:
Salaam,
I wanted to know if redbull is halal as I have been told that it contains bulls sperm. Can you find out if this is true and that it is permissible to drink.

Jazaakallah

Answer
Bismihi Subhanahu Wa-ta’ala
Assalamooalaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
Hereunder is the response to your query subject to disclaimer:
No, it is not true. we regard it as permissible.

Red Bull Stimulation/Energy Drink – 2006
www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/viewquestion.php?foodqid=150&c...

Please do tell your friends and Ulama about this site.
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service. Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.

Jazaakumullah and request for Du’aas
and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

islamqa.org/hanafi/muftisays/10227
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide[/quote]

Quote:
Q330: Red Bull and Boost

Question

Can you drink Red Bull and Boost?

Answer

I have checked their website; the ingredients seem halal, therefore they would be classed as halal.
www.tafseer-raheemi.com/q330-red-bull-and-boost/


[quote]Is Red Bull Energy Drink gluten free, vegan, wheat free, lactose free, dairy free?
Yes, Red Bull Energy Drink is suitable for vegetarians. Red Bull Energy Drink does not contain any animal products or substances derived from animals.
energydrink-uk.redbull.com/red-bull-is-gluten-free
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,537
Brother
-9,601
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 10th May 2017 13:53

What is Taurine?

Halalified YT Audio

  1. Natutally occuring non-essential amino acid in adult Humans
  2. Allah Ta'ala has put it in Breast Milk because babies don't have Turine

Why is it called Taurine, does it from Bull?

Taurine is named after the Latin taurus (a cognate of the Greek ταῦρος) which means bull or ox, as it was first isolated from ox bile in 1827 by German scientists Friedrich Tiedemann and Leopold Gmelin.

 

Today it no longer comes from any animals!

Where does Taurine come from, today?

 

Synthetic taurine is obtained by the ammonolysis of isethionic acid (2-hydroxyethanesulfonic acid), which in turn is obtained from the reaction of ethylene oxide with aqueous sodium bisulfite. A direct approach involves the reaction of aziridine with sulfurous acid.[4]

In 1993, about 5,000–6,000 tons of taurine were produced for commercial purposes: 50% for pet food and 50% in pharmaceutical applications.[5] As of 2010, China alone has more than 40 manufacturers of taurine. Most of these enterprises employ the ethanolamine method to produce a total annual production of about 3,000 tons.[6]

Taurine is produced by the Transsulfuration pathway which converts homocysteine into cystathionine. The cystathionine is then used by the Cystathionine gamma-lyase CTH, Cysteine dioxygenase CDO, and Cysteine sulfinic acid decarboxylase CSAD gene enzymes to produce hypotaurine and then taurine.[7]

In the laboratory taurine can be produced by alkylation of ammonia with bromoethanesulfonate salts.

So should I take energy Drinks?

No, avoid them as per recommendations by the NHS, side effects include:

  • caffeine overdose (which can lead to a number of symptoms, including palpitations, high blood pressure, nausea and vomiting, convulsions and, in some cases, even death)
  • type 2 diabetes – as high consumption of caffeine reduces insulin sensitivity
  • late miscarriages, low birthweight and stillbirths in pregnant women
  • neurological and cardiovascular system effects in children and adolescents
  • sensation-seeking behaviour
  • use and dependence on other harmful substances
  • poor dental health
  • somewhat ironically, given their association with sportiness, obesity
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What is the word in green?