Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

animal rennet in chocolates

You have contributed 57.1% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
muslimah_91
Rank Image
Taalibah's avatar
Unspecified
7,126
Sister
831
Taalibah's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 14th May 2007 15:00
please note permissability ruling on latest article on change of recipe by Masterfoods on various chocolates:







Mars starts using animal products

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.

Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part.

The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible".


'Extremely disappointed'

Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October.







Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step
Vegetarian Society


Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey.

It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

"If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods.

The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed".

"At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement.

"Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.


report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 11:56
so you can eat them?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 12:44
fatwa says you can eat and taqwa says you refrain from eating them,


The chocolates 100% halal are galaxy (milk chocolate only) and revels.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
sule's avatar
Offline
london
9
Unspecified
0
sule's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 13:07
if its got animal fat then its not allowed to eat it. so the best option is to eat the choclate that is 100%halal. my best choclate was snickers but now they going to put animal fat so i won'tbe eating it. muslim are in the spotlight all the time. so the best way to deal with it is not to eat the choclate that are haram. make duaa for the whole of mankind that allah gives the true understanding of islam to all of mankind ameen
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 13:22
Quote:

fatwa says you can eat and taqwa says you refrain from eating them


well put. but wont go far as saying its haraam as then you'd think another who wants to go down the fatwa and not taqwa route is eating haraam.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
London
1,265
Sister
812
#6 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 22:32


Found this on the GMWA Foodguide website:


Masterfoods 2007


Haraam


Skittles - Sours


The rest are Halaal, but please see the notes next to some of them, to highlight the issue of calf rennet and alcoholic flavourings at the bottom.



Calf Rennet Clarification:

Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20



Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:


Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.


Read the full article here:



Aquadrops Apple
Aquadrops Citrus
Bounty Milk (Calf Rennet)
Bounty Dark (Calf Rennet)
Celebrations (Calf Rennet)
Flyte (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Milk
Galaxy Fruit & Nut (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Hazelnut (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Amicelli (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Caramel (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Promises (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Ripple (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy Minstrels (Calf Rennet)
Lockets Honey & Lemon
Lockets Blackcurrant
Lockets Extra Strong
M&Ms Peanut (alcoholic Carrier) (Calf Rennet)
M&Ms Chocolate (alcoholic Carrier) (Calf Rennet)
M&Ms Crispy (alcoholic Carrier) (Calf Rennet)
Maltesers (Calf Rennet)
Maltesers White (Calf Rennet)
Mars (Calf Rennet)
Mars Funsize (Calf Rennet)
Milky Way (Calf Rennet)
Milky Way Magic Stars (Calf Rennet)
Revels
Skittles - Fruits

Skittles - Gum
Snickers (Calf Rennet)
Snickers Funsize (Calf Rennet)
Starburst Original
Starburst Strawberry
Starburst Sours
Topic (Calf Rennet)
Tracker Chocolate Chip
Tracker Roasted Nut
Tunes Cherry
Tunes Blackcurrant
Tunes Strawberry
Twix (Calf Rennet)


ICE CREAMS
Bounty - All varieties (Calf Rennet)
Galaxy - All varieties (Calf Rennet)
Mars Bar - All varieties (Calf Rennet)
Maltesers - All varieties (Calf Rennet)
M&Ms (Calf Rennet)
Snickers - All varieties
Starburst - All varieties (Calf Rennet)
Twix Bar (Calf Rennet)
Twix Tub (Calf Rennet)


DRINKS - Shakes
Mars Original Drink
Mars Extra Chocolate
Mars Thick Shake
Galaxy Smooth & Creamy Chocolate Milk Drink
Galaxy Thick Shake
Maltesers Chocolate Milk Drink
Bounty Frappe
Bounty Drink


DRINKS - Powder
Galaxy Hot Chocolate
Galaxy Hot Chocolate with Caramel
Galaxy Hot Chocolate Bliss
Maltesers Hot Chocolate Malt Drink

(page link here)


Wassalaam

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#7 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 23:10
so in conclusion its best to refrain however if others eat it after having read the relavant for and against views and then decided to go with a particular aalim (who shines with ilm and taqwa) who they've always gone (on all other matters) with whom in this case sides with rennet being ok then its ok for them. If however one merely picks the ok side based purely on naafs then that is very dangerous.


one should/must NOT look down on those who decide to eat it or somehow think themselves more high or taqwa bearing then others.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#8 [Permalink] Posted on 15th May 2007 23:36
probs still very much advisable to sign the online petition thats going around to force masterfoods to overturn their desicion as then once they do everyones ok.


far as i know masterfood UK chocs have been ok as they've used non-animal rennet/whey but thier chocs in the wider EC have always used the animal rennet/whey. now seems as they've gone down the single animal ingredient for all EC route - this is one of those things that we muslims, jews and other non-muslim veggie's can force them to change if we channel our efforts correctly and co-ordinate them together.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#9 [Permalink] Posted on 16th May 2007 08:55
talk about over kill! my email has been raamed by this from people saying "haraam!, etc". even walking into Clapton and Stamford Hill mosques these articles are on their noticeboards further scaremongering everyone - least Stamford Hill one now has the GMWA article explaining what Rennet is and the view of Hanafi fiqh on it.


Really ticks me off when people dont research things first rather then jump on band wagon an forward these email on to very tom, farooq, and fatima in the world.


on a good point least it shows people are alert of such things and care enough about the deen of others as they pass it on.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abu Abdullah's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
10
Unspecified
8
Abu Abdullah's avatar
#10 [Permalink] Posted on 16th May 2007 20:40
May Allah سبحانه وتعالى grant our Hadhrat Mufti Abdullah Sahib (who runs the foodguide) and his associates much barakah for their efforts in 'helping us to eat halaal', Aameen

Hadhrat Mufti Sahib and his associates spend a large amount of time and effort trying to get information from companies about halaal/haraam ingredients and it is no easy task!

That is why they need as many people on their mailing list so that when they need to 'put the pressure on' to these companies then we need to help them out and write/email them with our complaints as directed by foodguide.org.uk. So please, get on the mailing list and respond when they ask for your help. 5 mins of our time will make their jobs a whole load easier!

So bookmark foodguide.org.uk, pass the message onto friend/family/colleagues about the site and let us ensure we support them when requested.

May Allah سبحانه وتعالى reward Hadhrat and his associates who help in this much needed task, Aameen.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Taalibah's avatar
Unspecified
7,126
Sister
831
Taalibah's avatar
#11 [Permalink] Posted on 17th May 2007 13:22
Quote:

May Allah grant our Hadhrat Mufti Abdullah Sahib (who runs the foodguide) and his associates much barakah for their efforts in 'helping us to eat halaal', Aameen
[/quote]
[quote]
May Allah reward Hadhrat and his associates who help in this much needed task, Aameen.

Aameen.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#12 [Permalink] Posted on 20th May 2007 02:13
Mars bars get veggie status back

The move affected Masterfoods' chocolate and ice cream bars
Mars has abandoned plans to use animal products in its chocolate, and has apologised to "upset" vegetarians.
The firm had said it would change the whey used in some of its products from a vegetarian source to one with traces of the animal enzyme, rennet.


The Vegetarian Society organised a campaign against the move, asking members to voice their concerns to parent company Masterfoods.


Mars said it became "very clear, very quickly" that it had made a mistake.


In just one week, more than 6,000 people bombarded the company, which produces the Mars, Snickers, Maltesers and Galaxy brands, with phone and e-mail complaints.


Forty MPs also signed a petition to voice their opposition.


Fiona Dawson, managing director of Mars UK, said the company had listened to customers and decided to reverse its decision.


"The consumer is our boss and we had lots of feedback from consumers who were unhappy about the change," Ms Dawson said.


"It became very clear, very quickly that we had made a mistake, for which I am sorry.


"There are three million vegetarians in the UK and not only did we disappoint them, but we upset a lot of the consumers."


'Principled decision'


The Vegetarian Society had called the move by Mars "incomprehensible" and "a backward step" at a time when consumers were increasingly concerned about "the provenance of their food".


We are very pleased that they now recognise the importance of integrity to all their customers, especially vegetarians


Dr Annette Pinner
Vegetarian Society


Mars replied that, by admitting its products were no longer suitable for "extremely strict vegetarians", it was making a "principled decision".


Now it insists it will begin changing its recipes back immediately.


Dr Annette Pinner, chief executive of the Vegetarian Society, said she was pleased Mars had been "honest enough" to admit it had "made a mistake".


"A Masterfoods representative has made contact with us and we are very pleased that they now recognise the importance of integrity to all their customers, especially vegetarians," she added.


Rennet is extracted from calves' stomachs and was to have been used in the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars too.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#13 [Permalink] Posted on 20th May 2007 10:03
i more or less knew 90% this would happen. consumers power.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Mu'mina's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
25
Unspecified
9
Mu'mina's avatar
#14 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2007 16:02

Salam,




As soon as i found out that the chocolates are not going to be suitable for vegetarians I emailed Masterfoods. This is the response I recieved today:








Quote:
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for taking the time to contact us in connection with the change of ingredients in our chocolate confectionery and ice cream range.

Please note that after recently changing the source of some of the whey that is used in some of our chocolate products we have received lots of feedback that this decision has made it difficult for some of you, especially those of you who are vegetarians, to continue to enjoy our products. We realise that we made a mistake and we apologise. We have committed that we at Mars UK will ensure that a selection of favourite brands including Mars bars, Snickers bars, Galaxy and Maltesers will be suitable for vegetarians in the near future.

Meanwhile we are currently experiencing unusually high volumes of contacts from our consumers and therefore we hope that you understand that, rather than answer your question individually, we are attaching a list of questions and answers we believe would be useful and help answer your enquiry.

Alternatively you can visit our web site (www.masterfoodsconsumercare.co.uk) for this, and other useful information.

Once again thank you for taking the time to contact us. Please do get back in touch, at the dedicated email address below, if your specific query has not been answered and we will do our best to get a speedy response to you.

Yours faithfully

On Behalf of Fiona Dawson
Mars UK
fionadawson@masterfoods.co.uk


Q1.What are you announcing?

A1.We have recently changed the source of some of the whey which is used in our chocolate products made in the UK from a vegetarian friendly variety to one which contains traces of traditional rennet from animal sources. We have received lots of feedback from consumers and reversed this decision.

Q2.Are you reverting to vegetarian recipes for all of those products that were subject to the ingredient change?

A2.Yes, this announcement means that favourite products - Mars bars, Snickers bars, Galaxy, and Maltesers will once again be suitable for vegetarians.

Q3.You make lots of other brands - what about the suitability of them?

A3.Other products will also be suitable for vegetarians including Minstrels, Revels, and Ripple. However, Twix, Bounty and Celebrations will continue not to be suitable for vegetarians.

Q4.I'm a vegetarian - which products can I eat / should I avoid?

A4.Currently we cannot guarantee that our products contain vegetarian rennet. However, we are starting to change our manufacturing process with immediate effect. We want to get our vegetarian products on the shelves as soon as possible. During this process of changing the recipes we will provide updates on this consumer care website, on a regular basis. If you are not sure about the suitability of our products please call us on 0845 0450042.

Q5.Why did you decide to change the ingredients in the first place?

A5.We made the change to broaden our supply base in order to ensure we could continue to provide our consumers with products of consistent quality in the future.

Q6.Will you now consult with consumers on any future changes to products?

A6.Yes. This change was a mistake and we are sorry that we may have prevented consumers from enjoying the products they've always enjoyed.




Hope this helps as its from the company themself.



Source: The-Deen

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top