Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

M&M's Halal and Haram

You have contributed 8.3% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
abu mohammed, Taalibah
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 20th January 2011 21:25

is e120 haraam? i am asking because it is inn .. m'n'm's jzk..

Authorizer edit: Topic split from Mufti Abdullah Patel
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,929
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 20th January 2011 22:10

M&M Peanuts are Haram as they contain some form of animal shell.



please see http://www.gmwa.org.uk


If I find it InshaAllah I will post it here again.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,929
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 20th January 2011 22:14

Please refer all Halal & Haram Food Queries here

www.gmwa.org.uk
 

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=197

Last Updated: 25/01/2010

These are Haraam

M&Ms Peanut- E120 SEE BELOW

M&Ms Chocolate- E120

M&Ms Crispy- E120



ALL THE FOLLOWING ARE HALAAL

Please see the notes next to some of them, to highlight the issue of calf rennet and alcoholic flavourings at the bottom. Some may feel they wish to refrain them.





Calf Rennet Clarification:

Rennet per se, is not impermissible.

It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though

praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:



Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)

www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&am...



* contains calf based rennet

*? Possibly contains calf rennet as manufactured on the continent



Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:



Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.



Read the full article here:

www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&am...



Bounty Milk

Bounty Dark

Celebrations *

Flyte *

Galaxy Milk

Galaxy Smooth Dark *

Galaxy Raisin Almond & Hazelnut *

Galaxy Roasted & Caramelised Hazelnuts *

Galaxy Amicelli *

Galaxy Cookie Crumble *

Galaxy Caramel *

Galaxy Ripple

Galaxy Minstrels

Galaxy Bubbles

Galaxy Mistletoe Kisses

Maltesers

Malteaster Bunny

Maltesers White

Mars Planets

Mars

Mars Delight *

Milky Way Crispy Rolls *

Milky Way *

Milky Way Magic Stars *

Revels

Snickers

Topic *

Tracker Chocolate Chip

Tracker Raisin

Tracker Roasted Nut

Twix



ICE CREAMS

Bounty - All varieties

Galaxy - All varieties

Mars Bar - All varieties *

Maltesers - All varieties

Snickers - All varieties

Starburst - All varieties *

Twix Bar



DRINKS - Shakes

Mars Refuel

Mars Extra Chocolate

Mars Hot Chocolate *

Mars Thick Shake

Galaxy Creamy Hot Chocolate *

Galaxy Smooth & Creamy Chocolate Milk Drink

Galaxy Probiotic Drink

Galaxy Smoothie Chocolate Orange

Galaxy Thick Shake

Maltesers Malted Hot Chocolate *

Maltesers Super Thick Shake

Maltesers Super Frothy Chocolate Milk Drink

M&M's Super Thick Shake *

Twix Super Thick Shake

Bounty Drink

Moment du chocolat with Marshmallows *

Moment du chocolat dark chocolate with wafers *

Starburst Strawberry Thick Shake

Milky Way Thick Shake



DRINKS - Powder

Bounty Frappe

Galaxy Hot Chocolate

Galaxy Hot Chocolate with Caramel

Galaxy Hot Chocolate Bliss

Maltesers Hot Chocolate Malt Drink


NOT ON WEBSITE, ADDITIONAL INFO AND RESEARCH DONE BY ME AS I LOVED M&M PEANUTS

Carmine, also called Crimson Lake, Cochineal, Natural Red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright red color obtained from the carminic acid produced by some scale insects, such as the cochineal and the Polish cochineal, and is used as a general term for a particularly deep red color of the same name. Carmine is used in the manufacture of artificial flowers, paints, crimson ink, rouge, and other cosmetics, and is routinely added to food products such as yoghurt and certain brands of juice, most notably those of the ruby-red variety.

Production

Carmine may be prepared from cochineal, by boiling bugs in water to extract the carminic acid and then treating the clear solution with alum, cream of tartar, stannous chloride, or potassium hydrogen oxalate; the coloring and animal matters present in the liquid are thus precipitated. Other methods are in use in which egg white, fish glue, or gelatine are sometimes added before the precipitation.

The quality of carmine is affected by the temperature and the degree of illumination during its preparation, sunlight being requisite for the production of a brilliant hue. It also differs according to the amount of alumina present in it. It is sometimes adulterated with cinnabar, starch and other materials; from these the carmine can be separated by dissolving it in ammonia. Good carmine should crumble readily between the fingers when dry.

Carmine lake is a pigment obtained by adding freshly precipitated alumina to decoction of cochineal.

Carmine can be used as a staining agent in microbiology, as a Best's carmine to stain glycogen, mucicarmine to stain acidic mucopolysaccharides, and carmalum to stain cell nuclei. In these applications, it is applied together with a mordant, usually an Al(III) salt.




 

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 17th August 2012 16:04
what is mufti abdullas email address
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Yasin's avatar
UK
6,568
Brother
1,376
Yasin's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 17th August 2012 17:57
Please contact then via their website www.gmwa.org.uk

We do not give anyone's email address out.

Wassalam
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,537
Brother
107
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#6 [Permalink] Posted on 22nd February 2015 16:56
report post quote code quick quote reply
+0 -0Agree x 1
back to top
Rank Image
xs11ax's avatar
Unspecified
3,240
Brother
2,551
xs11ax's avatar
#7 [Permalink] Posted on 22nd February 2015 17:21
Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post


salaam

this is the only chocolate that i miss. if they were halaal again i would eat them until i become sick!
report post quote code quick quote reply
+0 -0Agree x 1
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,929
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#8 [Permalink] Posted on 22nd February 2015 17:27
I hate M&M's just because I used to love them :(

My aunt came to my house last week and gave all the kids some M&M's. My kids didn't take them as they know that they are haram.

Then she read the packet which was clearly labelled as suitable for vegetarians. It was so annoying. Anyway, they came from America so they were ok.

I went to the shop today and thought, let me just check again just in case and nope, they were from the UK, still haram. If only!
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,537
Brother
107
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#9 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 00:57

xs11ax wrote:
View original post

abu mohammed wrote:
View original post

I don't follow?

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,758
Brother
3,967
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#10 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 01:17
Abu Abdullah wrote:
View original post


Subhan'Allah Amazing the amount of work being done in a small community like Gloucester...The Gujerati community is a great blessing for muslims in the U.K. indeed around the world, and I am speaking as a Non-Gujerati.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,929
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#11 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 09:15
Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post

They are missed. If only there was a petition to have them as Halal is what we are trying to say.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,537
Brother
107
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#12 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 10:47

abu mohammed wrote:
View original post

Source 1: GMWA E-Numbers

Source 2: SANHA E-Numbers:

Source 3: M&M's Crispy bag 36g

  • sugar
  • cocoa mass
  • rice flour
  • vegetable fat
  • skimmed milk powder
  • lactose (from milk) and milk proteins
  • cocoa butter
  • milk fat
  • emulsifier (soya lecithin)
  • salt
  • barley malt extract
  • colours (E100, E120, E133, beta carotene, E160e, E171)
  • glucose syrup
  • starch
  • dextrin
  • dextrose
  • glazing agent (carnauba wax)
  • flavourings
  • vegetable oil

I still don't understand? What makes you say that Blue or Yellow M&M's are Haram?

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,929
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#13 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 10:52
Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post

It's the red ones that are Haram, we know that.

The point is, why buy a packet of sweets when you have to throw away the red ones? Best thing is not to buy it.

Not only that, look at the implications. My kids and many Muslims know that the red ones are Haram, but they won't eat any of them. If they see a Muslim with a pack of M&M's in their hand, what will they think? Will they assume they won't eat the red ones or will they assume that they are now Halal or he's eating Haram. Better to avoid outright, right.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,537
Brother
107
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#14 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 10:59

abu mohammed wrote:
View original post

Would you accept that this is your personal prerogative and not a commandment of Shariah because others are not Haram? If you say that other colours get contaminated by touching the red in the bag that’s a different argument (which we can discuss because that’s an interesting discussion).

Also I didn't get the part about US? Are you sayng that the US version is Halal?

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
24,929
Brother
9,213
abu mohammed's avatar
#15 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd February 2015 11:06
Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post

Contamination is a whole separate issue. Since the sweets are DRY, we have a whole new scenario, so in my unqualified opinion, I will remain silent.

However, If I were to go to the M&M's store in London's West End, then I'd probably buy some non reds :) (but most likely not)
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top