Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
sweetmuslimahk1, Taqwah, abu mohammed
1 guest appreciates this topic.
Rank Image
London
Brother
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 20th April 2011 16:46

I am an engineer and my job requires me to go out and do work in other offices. I install telephone systems and Data cables as well as CCTV.

Most jobs are in huge offices but sometimes we get sent to the directors homes to do work there.

Being Muslim we, do our job very well and Alhumdulillah our customers are very pleased and recommend us to other clients.

However, as they like the job so much, I get a tip from them. Sometimes £5, £10, £20 even £50.This is beside what they pay for the work we were called for.

I am sure there are many other trades in which people get tips, like restaurants, cabbies etc.

But I came across something that pushed me back a little. Please bear in mind that we dont work for the tip rather we work honestly. Yes we do take shortcuts, but it is still valid in my field.

Please read the post below and reply with your thoughts.

Jazakallah Khair.

The Fatwa is from a Salafi site.

report post quote code quick quote reply
Rank Image
London
Brother
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 20th April 2011 16:47
Should he give the telephone worker a tip even though he has a salary?
What is the ruling on giving a tip to someone who does a service for me, such as an employee of the telephone company who fixes the phone for me, knowing that he gets a fixed salary for his work? Is it permissible for me to give him a tip or not?.

Praise be to Allaah.

It is not permissible to give tips or gifts to workers who get a salary for their work. The evidence for that is what was narrated by al-Bukhaari (6578) and Muslim (1832) from Abu Humayd al-Saa'idi who said: