Create an account
The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.


Last updated: 16th July 2005
Question ID: #572
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
bint Mohammed
16th July 2005

Salaams, Are the choclates CELEBRATIONS halal? Salaams

Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
16th July 2005
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Location: UK
The animal constituent in Celebrations is Whey rennet from Calf. Whether it is from an animal which is slaughtered according to Islamic rites or not the calf rennet in the opinion of some scholars is Permissible.

It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion. For those who wish to refrain a key is adopted to show which items has animal rennet.
Whey sourced from calf rennet is acceptable:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)

MARS Confectionary 2005