The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

Vanilla extract

Last updated: 11th August 2012
Question ID: #4177
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?4177
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
Misc
11th August 2012

 
Salams I am aware that we are allowed vanillin and vanilla essence however are we allowed vanilla extract and natural vanilla extract? Jk for time



Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 04
Answer last updated on:
11th September 2012
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 04
Website
Location: London
Bismillah



Al-jawab billahi at-taufeeq (the answer with Allah's guidance)





Vanilla Extract is a Haram ingredient because it contains 35% alcohol. The term 'extract' means when it has an alcohol base.



Please also view this link: http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=69





And Only Allah Ta'ala Knows Best.