The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

Gelatin is it permisserble

Last updated: 2nd April 2007
Question ID: #4074
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?4074
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
MM
2nd April 2007

 
salam can you tell me that if Gelatin is haram or hallal jazakallah just in a simple question



Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
27th May 2007
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Website
Location: UK
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume. As a rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless proved otherwise. Fish gelatine is suitable as a substitute. Generally porcine or bovine based gelatine is commonly used which is Haraam.


And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk