The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

Krispy kreme, halal or not?

Last updated: 15th March 2007
Question ID: #4009
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
15th March 2007


recently there has been alot of controversy about wether or not krispy kreme doughnuts are halal or not, as they appear to contain alcohol. they are an american doughnut company. below is a e-mail from the company describing the issue related

"Thank you for your recent email regarding nutritional information on our doughnuts. Krispy Kreme doughnuts do not contain alcohol products manufactured to be consumed as a beverage, such as liquors, wine and beer. The glaze on Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnuts contains a specially produced flavouring that is made and approved for use according to strict FDA guidelines. This flavouring contains a small amount of ethyl alcohol, a common ingredient that, incidentally, is also naturally present in just about all fresh fruits and vegetables. The flavouring for Krispy Kremeís glaze contains less than 2 percent ethyl alcohol, an essential ingredient for many flavourings commonly used in commercial food production. By contrast, vanilla flavouring, an ingredient widely used in many foods, such as ice cream, cakes, cookies, even animal crackers for children, contains 35 percent ethyl alcohol. It is important to note, however, that when the flavouring is mixed into the glaze recipe, it becomes less than 1 percent of the total composition, and, therefore, the ethyl alcohol content drops to less than 0.02 percent. During the cooking of the glaze, virtually all, if not all, of the ethyl alcohol is lost through evaporation. We hope you find this information helpful and appreciate the opportunity to provide assistance and we look forward to serving you in the future."

i was hoping if you could help me by telling me if the doughnuts are actually haram or if they are allowed.


Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
27th May 2007
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Location: UK
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:

Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

Read the full article here:

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh