MuftiSays.com
 

Question & Answers

     Goto Question: #     You are here:    » Q & A Home » Food Related » Krispy kreme, halal or not?
     
Submit Question
Submit Question
 
Categories
  Death - Janaazah (47)
  Food Related (220)
  Hajj / Umrah (59)
  Health & Medicine (33)
  History (20)
  Imaan / 'Aqaaid (132)
  Living in the West (97)
  Marriage - General (127)
  Marriage - Issues (44)
  Marriage - Over 13 (108)
  Miscellaneous (302)
  Ramadhan (117)
  Salaah - Performing (139)
  Salaah - Recitation (29)
  Salaah - Wudhu (87)
  Tafseer, Hadeeth, Du'aa (39)
  Todays Issues (116)
  Women (192)
  Zakaah (28)
 
What's new?

26th March 2014
evil and blasphemous thoughts
Imaan / 'Aqaaid

26th March 2014
Women travelling for Hajj
Hajj / Umrah

26th March 2014
Special Socks due to operation
Salaah - Wudhu

20th March 2014
Sajdah Tilawah after reading translation of verse for Sajdah
Miscellaneous

3rd December 2013
Period during fast
Women

16th July 2013
Fasting problem
Ramadhan

16th July 2013
Jinn responsible for their actions
Miscellaneous

14th July 2013
Talaaq Muallaq
Marriage - Issues

14th July 2013
Man from paradise
Tafseer, Hadeeth, Du'aa

14th July 2013
What should we recite in the last ten days of Ramadhan
Ramadhan

 
Ads
 
 
 

Krispy kreme, halal or not?

Question date:   15th March 2007
From:   Shah-B
Short URL:   http://qa.muftisays.com?4009
Notes:   No Notes
Question ID:   4009
Email this Page
Email this Page

Asalaamualaikum,

recently there has been alot of controversy about wether or not krispy kreme doughnuts are halal or not, as they appear to contain alcohol. they are an american doughnut company. below is a e-mail from the company describing the issue related

"Thank you for your recent email regarding nutritional information on our doughnuts. Krispy Kreme doughnuts do not contain alcohol products manufactured to be consumed as a beverage, such as liquors, wine and beer. The glaze on Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnuts contains a specially produced flavouring that is made and approved for use according to strict FDA guidelines. This flavouring contains a small amount of ethyl alcohol, a common ingredient that, incidentally, is also naturally present in just about all fresh fruits and vegetables. The flavouring for Krispy Kreme’s glaze contains less than 2 percent ethyl alcohol, an essential ingredient for many flavourings commonly used in commercial food production. By contrast, vanilla flavouring, an ingredient widely used in many foods, such as ice cream, cakes, cookies, even animal crackers for children, contains 35 percent ethyl alcohol. It is important to note, however, that when the flavouring is mixed into the glaze recipe, it becomes less than 1 percent of the total composition, and, therefore, the ethyl alcohol content drops to less than 0.02 percent. During the cooking of the glaze, virtually all, if not all, of the ethyl alcohol is lost through evaporation. We hope you find this information helpful and appreciate the opportunity to provide assistance and we look forward to serving you in the future."

i was hoping if you could help me by telling me if the doughnuts are actually haram or if they are allowed.

Jazakhallah

Answer

Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 03

Answer last updated on:
27th May 2007
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 03

Website
Location: UK

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:

Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

Read the full article here:
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=200

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk

--------------------------------------
(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide


Email:

Search Q&A
Search for:
 
Recently Viewed Questions
Krispy kreme, halal or not?
 
Stats
Total Questions: 2037
 
Sponsors