Create an account
The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

New Smarties Again

Last updated: 5th December 2006
Question ID: #3263
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?3263
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
Aishah
5th December 2006

 
Assalamu Alaykum,

Regading http://qa.muftisays.com/index.php?viewpage=viewQA&question=2959

So does this mean that smarties are haraam?

Wassalam



Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
7th December 2006
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Website
Location: UK
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

definition of E120: E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines, Natural Red 4 [Colouring] [possible allergic reaction] [animal origin] Source: www.bryngollie.com Cochineal: A red dyestuff consisting of dried bodies of female cochineal insects

If you have a product which contains several colours including E120, (like smarties pink and purple) then (in my opinion) as a matter of caution, it is better to abstain from this product. The reason being is that when handling the sweets, the body heat cause the colouring to become wet and there is the risk of the Haraam colouring spreading.

That said, Nestle do not consider Smarties suitable for vegetarians.

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
www.foodguide.org.uk