Create an account
The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

raw liver tablets

Last updated: 4th July 2006
Question ID: #2065
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?2065
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
amatullah
4th July 2006

 
assalamoalaikum
i want to know if consuming raw liver tablets are halal. the tablets are made from dessicated liver and are prescribed by doctors for iron deficiency aneamia. i have tried a whole range of medicines and nothing has really worked so i have been advised to take these from a doctor.
the tablets are made by a non-muslim company and the tablets are made from beef liver, which is most probably not slaughtered in the halal way.
wassalam




Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
4th July 2006
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Website
Location: UK
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

The bottom line is that if there is no adequate alternative, then it is permissible to use the medicine utilising beef liver.

At the outset, we should never forget that sickness and health are both in the Hands of Allah SWT and we should pray 2 units of Salaatul Haajat regularly and petition Allah for good health whilst taking advantage of the medicine. Always having the belief that Allah is the only Being who can give shif'aa.

Searching for adequate alternatives:

1. You may also ask at your local pharmacy, Lloyds Supersave, Superdrug/ and Boots Chemists for adequate alternatives. They would have more idea to alternatives and the product ranges are in front of them. Companies try to be customer-oriented and we as Muslims can take advantage of this as after all we are customers. Demand politely but firmly.

2. Products from The pharmaceutical industry quite often has a medical helpline for consumers printed on the product. It would be advisable to ring them to ascertain whether they would have the product you require. If you feel uncomfortable ringing them, we would me more than happy to investigate them for you, however it would be appreciable if you could get the numbers from labels of the products for us.

3. Ask your GP (preferably Muslim, if possible)for an alternative which is haraam-ingredient free. They have highly detailed databases which they may interrogate.

4. Ask your pharmacist (preferably Muslim, if possible) for an alternative. They have the make-up of the medicine in front of them and should know of adequate alternatives.

I pray that this proves useful. Please pray that Allah accepts these tiny efforts and that He makes it a means for our upliftment in this world and the Hereafter.


And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh