Create an account
The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

is gelatine halaal?

Last updated: 13th June 2006
Question ID: #1957
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?1957
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
Afia
13th June 2006

 
Assalam alaikum, dear schalor.
I've been using cod liver oil capsules(company:Sevenseas) that are made up of gelatine.I would like to know is it permissible to consume this form of gelatine.
JazakAllah



Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
29th June 2006
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Website
Location: UK
Assalamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullah,

One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume. As a rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless proved otherwise. Fish gelatine is suitable as a substitute. Generally porcine or bovine based gelatine is commonly used which is Haraam.


Jazaakumullah and request for Du'aas
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best