Create an account
The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

EDTA

Last updated: 20th March 2006
Question ID: #1588
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?1588
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
creation
20th March 2006

 

assalamuAlaikum

Is EDTA halal?




Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 05
Answer last updated on:
24th March 2006
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 05
Website
Location: Batley, England

Answer In the name of Allah the All-knowing


Yes, EDTA or ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid is Halal to consume. It is a polyprotic acid containing four carboxylic acid groups (COOH) and two amine groups (Nitrogen groups). EDTA is synthesized on an industrial scale from ethylenediamine, formaldehyde, and a source of cyanide (HCN or NaCN).

Once these components react together the product is EDTA, it is Halal to consume.

EDTA is used in sauces etc, and to give the colours of certain shampoos.

And Allah knows best

Ref Mcmurry Organic Chemistry 6th edition

24 March 2006