The Q&A section is no longer active in taking new questions. We would like to thank every person who trusted us in providing reliable and accurate answers to questions and problems. Due to lack of time available from the Ulamaa in the UK, we are unable to continue with this service.
The section will however remain available as an archive of previously answered question. To ask new questions, please consider the Q&A support section on the forum where members can assist in locating available answers from Ulamaa.

Question: Is Shellac halal

Last updated: 2nd February 2006
Question ID: #1400
Short URL: http://qa.muftisays.com/?1400
Printer Friendly Version Email this page
JANNAT
2nd February 2006

 

Salaam, I wanted to know if the ingredient shellac is halal or not, because they use in some of tesco brand sweets, for example: Milk covered peanuts.

Thanx




Answer
Ulamaa
Ulamaa ID 03
Answer last updated on:
15th May 2012
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 03
Website
Location: UK
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.

Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh



We concur with SANHA's original ruling the impermissibility of Shellac based on the unanimous decision of:



Jamiatul Ulama South Africa - Johannesburg

Mufti Yusf Docrat, Mufti M.Y. Minty, Mufti Zakariyya Pandor



Darul Uloom Abu Bakr –Port Elizabeth

Mufti Siraj Desai



Madrasah Taleemuddeen - Isipingo

Mufti E. Salejee



Jamiatul Ulama KZN - Durban

Mufti E. Salejee



Channel Islam International - Johannesburg

Mufti AK Hoosen



Jaamiah Mahmoodiyyah - Springs

Mufti Ashraf



Madrasah Arabia Islamia - Azaadville

Mufti Muhammad Obeid



Darul Uloom Zakariyya - Lenasia

Mufti Radaul Haqq Yusufzai



Madrasah In’aamiyah - Camperdown

Mufti Ebrahim Desai



Waterval Islamic Institute - Johannesburg

Mufti Ahmad Mia, Mawlana Nazir Sanjalvi, Mufti Yusuf Phiri, Mufti M. Mia



Majlisul A’immah, Kimberly

Mufti Ayyub Jeena.



Kindly note, we will not be updating every link on the web-site (www.foodguide.org.uk),

to advise of shellac's IMPERMISSIBLE status. Please accept this

statement as sufficient notice on the change of status of shellac.



Where shellac is only used as a coating on apples etc, washing it off thoroughly will render it Halaal. This is only necessary when one is definite Shellac has been used.

It is also used to replace the natural wax of the apple, which is removed during the cleaning process.[17] When used for this purpose, it has the food additive E number E904



P.S.

Kindly note that SANHA have revised their decision on shellac very recently.



Shellac Reviewed! - http://www.sanha.co.za/a/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2106&Itemid=230



After several attempts to gain clarification on the change of decision, they have not reverted back to us. We stick to the view of impermissibilty until contrary information is received.



http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shellac



And Allah knows Best

Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

Web: http://www.foodguide.org.uk

Mobiles: http://tinyurl.com/foodguide2