Question ID: #4177
Question: Vanilla extract

I am aware that we are allowed vanillin and vanilla essence however are we allowed vanilla extract and natural vanilla extract?

Jk for time
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 04 (London)
Date: 11/09/2012 21:32pm


Al-jawab billahi at-taufeeq (the answer with Allah's guidance)

Vanilla Extract is a Haram ingredient because it contains 35% alcohol. The term 'extract' means when it has an alcohol base.

Please also view this link:

And Only Allah Ta'ala Knows Best.

Mufti Qamruzzaman

London, UK