Source: http://qa.muftisays.com/index.php?viewpage=viewQA&question=4009
Question ID: #4009
 
Question: Krispy kreme, halal or not?
Asalaamualaikum,

recently there has been alot of controversy about wether or not krispy kreme doughnuts are halal or not, as they appear to contain alcohol. they are an american doughnut company. below is a e-mail from the company describing the issue related

"Thank you for your recent email regarding nutritional information on our doughnuts. Krispy Kreme doughnuts do not contain alcohol products manufactured to be consumed as a beverage, such as liquors, wine and beer. The glaze on Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnuts contains a specially produced flavouring that is made and approved for use according to strict FDA guidelines. This flavouring contains a small amount of ethyl alcohol, a common ingredient that, incidentally, is also naturally present in just about all fresh fruits and vegetables. The flavouring for Krispy Kreme’s glaze contains less than 2 percent ethyl alcohol, an essential ingredient for many flavourings commonly used in commercial food production. By contrast, vanilla flavouring, an ingredient widely used in many foods, such as ice cream, cakes, cookies, even animal crackers for children, contains 35 percent ethyl alcohol. It is important to note, however, that when the flavouring is mixed into the glaze recipe, it becomes less than 1 percent of the total composition, and, therefore, the ethyl alcohol content drops to less than 0.02 percent. During the cooking of the glaze, virtually all, if not all, of the ethyl alcohol is lost through evaporation. We hope you find this information helpful and appreciate the opportunity to provide assistance and we look forward to serving you in the future."

i was hoping if you could help me by telling me if the doughnuts are actually haram or if they are allowed.

Jazakhallah
 
 
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 03 (UK)
Date: 27/05/2007 23:33pm

In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:

Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

Read the full article here:
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=200

And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh
http://www.foodguide.org.uk


No public notes for this page

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Email:
 
www.MuftiSays.com