Source: http://qa.muftisays.com/index.php?viewpage=viewQA&question=1957
Question ID: #1957
 
Question: is gelatine halaal?
Assalam alaikum, dear schalor.
I've been using cod liver oil capsules(company:Sevenseas) that are made up of gelatine.I would like to know is it permissible to consume this form of gelatine.
JazakAllah
 
 
Answered by: Ulamaa ID 03 (UK)
Date: 29/06/2006 20:16pm

Assalamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullah,

One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume. As a rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless proved otherwise. Fish gelatine is suitable as a substitute. Generally porcine or bovine based gelatine is commonly used which is Haraam.


Jazaakumullah and request for Du'aas
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best


No public notes for this page

(Mufti) Abdullah Patel
Halal Food Guide

Email:
 
www.MuftiSays.com