Q&A Home » Miscellaneous

Is betel nut haram?

Last updated: 15th December 2019
Question ID: #4346
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page


 
Salam alaikum, Is betel nut haram? The World Health Organization, the Journal of the American Dental Association, the American Society for Clinical Nutrition, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration have linked this substance with several incurable conditions, addiction, reproductive issues, and oral cancer (Source: https://www.healthline.com/health/betel-nut-dangers#cancer-risk ).  Modern medical research proves that this incredibly harmful, thus eating or chewing it would be an act of causing harm to one's self. Does this make eating or chewing betel nut haram? 



بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم


الجواب حامداومصليا

Paan is made up of these components (supari) Betel nut, zarda (smokeless tobacco), tobacco, chuna or soon (lime), seed, spices. If it is consumed with moderation with the experience of benefit and less harm then it is permissible. One should avoid consuming it beyond necessity. Also, if the tobacco causes intoxication then it will be Haram to consume. If it is not intoxicating and does not have bad smell then it is permissible, but if it has bad smell then it is Makruh to enter the Masjid without washing the mouth. 


يباح أكل النورة مع الورق المأكول في ديار الهند لانه قليل نافع فان الغرض المطلوب من الورق المذكور لايحصل بدونها

(نفع المفتي والسائل, كتاب الخظر والاباحة, ج4 ص.148)

سئل بعض الفقهاء عن أكل طين البخاري ونحوه قال لابأس بذالك مالم يضر

(الفتاوى العالمكيرية ,كتاب الكراهية, ج. 5ص.341, رشيدية)

عن جابر رضي الله تعالى عنه قال قال رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم من أكل من هذه الشجرة المنتنة فلايقربن مسجدنافان الملائكة تتأذي ممايتأذي منه الانس

(مشكاة المصابيح ,كتاب الصلوة,باب المساجد, ص.68,قديمي)


And Allah knows best

06 ٍJumada Athaniya 1441/ 01 Februaury 2020


Mufti
Answer last updated on:
1st February 2020
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 04
Website
Location: London