Q&A Home » Food Related

Cheese;

Last updated: 7th May 2005
Question ID: #411
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page


 
I have read that cheese not marked 'Vegetarian' contains pepsin as part of the process of making it. I have read that pepsin refers to a specific enzyme which - due to ease & plentiful supply - cheese manufacturers extract from pigs' stomachs. Any truth to this?



Bismihi Ta'ala

It is very possible that cheese that is unmarked with the vegetarian tag may have some inclusions of other animals. If so, then there is no need at all to eat it when there are so many types of chees available with the vegetarian tag.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti
Answer last updated on:
16th May 2005
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 01
Location: