Q&A Home » Food Related

Explanation

Last updated: 20th October 2006
Question ID: #2854
Short URL:
Printer Friendly Version Email this page


 
Respected Elders,

Assalmu-alaykum Warahmatullah.


I heard that if alcohol is found in any item, be it food, medication or toiletry items such as body sprays face creams etc, etc and is extracted from dates or grapes then this is Haram. If so, why is it only dates and grapes?

May Allah elevate the Ummah.

Jazzakallah.



Bismillah

Al-jawab billahi at-taufeeq (the answer with Allah's guidance)


The alcohol used in perfumes or deodorants is normally a synthetic alcohol, which is not impure (Najis) and will be permissible for external use. However, its oral intake is still impermissible except in the cases of necessary medication.


If the alcohol is from grapes or dates extract, then this will be impure (Najis) and Haram.

Abu Huraira (RadhiAllahu Ta'ala Anhu) reported Allah's Messenger (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) having said: Wine is prepared from the (fruit) of these two trees date-palm and vine. (Muslim, The Book of Drinks)


Ibn 'Umar (RadhiAllahu Ta'ala Anhu), through another chain of transmitters; reported Allah's Messenger (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) having said this: Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is forbidden. (Muslim, The Book of Drinks)


And Only Allah Ta'ala Knows Best.

Mufti
Answer last updated on:
28th August 2008
Answered by:
Ulamaa ID 04
Website
Location: London