Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 

Lidl fresh bakery

You have contributed 14.3% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
abu mohammed, Taalibah, member2
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
86
Sister
200
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 31st October 2014 00:49

Asalamu alyakum

Its been a while since i posted anything here, but i thought this would be handy for those that live near lidl. For those living near lidl, you may have realised that they have a new fresh bakery area. Everytime you walk in lidl, the first thing you smell is the bakery and its very tempting to buy, but the thing was everytime i asked the bakers whether the bakery was vegeterian they were not to sure themselves. So i wrote to the actual lidl company and they replied with the following attachment. Basically, in short all there fresh bakery is suitable for vegeterian.

BAKERY INFORMATION.pdf
Downloads: 12
    [3053.12 kB]
report post quote code quick quote reply
+3 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
86
Sister
200
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 31st October 2014 00:51

Recently they started selling cheese and onion pastries, so i wrote to them again ( yes i really did want to eat it lol). They replied:

Re: Cheese and Onion Pasties

Thank you for your contact regarding the above product.

We are happy to confirm that our Cheese and Onion Pastie and indeed all of our fresh bakery products are suitable for vegetarians.

We hope this information is of use to you and you will continue to be a valued Lidl customer.


Yours sincerely, 
For and on behalf of Lidl UK GmbH 

Robbie Walker 
Customer Service 

Tel – 0370 444 1234 
Email - customer.services@lidl.co.uk
 

report post quote code quick quote reply
+2 -0Like x 2
back to top
Rank Image
Daywalk3r's avatar
Offline
UK
1,424
Brother
672
Daywalk3r's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 31st October 2014 09:27
AAWW Aint tried yet...but yes quite tempting and cheaper then the other supermarkets. jzk for the info
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1Agree x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
86
Sister
200
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 13:42

Here is an updated list for lidl bakery. We need to be careful because they keep changing the ingredients. I was suprised to see the double chocolate chip cookie has ethanol, even though its vegeterian. 

BEL_Bakery Overview_05.05.15.pdf
Downloads: 2247
    [407.08 kB] UPDATED LIST FOR LIDL BAKERY
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
288
Brother
131
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 16:55
so ethanol would be haraam in food?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
288
Brother
131
#6 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 16:56
btw do you just check up on lidl not any of the other companies? aldis for example?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
9,168
Brother
7,693
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#7 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 17:16
Rumo wrote:
View original post


why were you surprised? Ethanol is vegetarian, isn't it?
Posted via the Muftisays Android App
report post quote code quick quote reply
+0 -0Agree x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
86
Sister
200
#8 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 23:24

Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post

 

yes its vegeterian, but i was suprised at the fact it contains ethanol in it and i did not know this before. These cookies were my favourite, i used to have them thinking they are vegeterian, hance they are halal. In the previous list they did not mention anything about ethanol. So the thought did not cross my mind, so when it was mentioned i was suprised.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
86
Sister
200
#9 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 23:29

byellow200 wrote:
View original post

To what i know of, it is not allowed and is considered haraam.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Asaaghir's avatar
Tragic-istan
462
Brother
222
Asaaghir's avatar
#10 [Permalink] Posted on 23rd May 2015 23:33


report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#11 [Permalink] Posted on 8th October 2015 21:25
Try central mosque, uk , general fiqh, usage of alcohol, this may help. I'm not a scholar or anything , please consult someone you trust and is knowledgable if your unsure. Jazak Allah Khair
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
9,168
Brother
7,693
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#12 [Permalink] Posted on 9th October 2015 09:24
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#13 [Permalink] Posted on 10th August 2017 05:52
Pink iced donuts are not suitable for vegetarians. See lidl bakery list. They contain carmine which is haraam.
report post quote code quick quote reply
+0 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
20,713
Brother
6,854
abu mohammed's avatar
#14 [Permalink] Posted on 1st May 2019 14:33
Rumo wrote:
View original post

This is no longer the case.

This video explains why and it also shows you one of their donuts which now contains Shellac and is also labelled as Not Suitable for Veg"

This varies between stores and includes their much loved Croissant.

Be careful!

Halalified YouTube Audio

www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhVFVmSoFzA
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What part of the day is the background image (it's not day)?