BEER with 0.0% Alcohol HARAM

You have contributed 32.1% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 29th December 2017 22:55
EDIT: Title changed from HEINEKEN 0.0% Alcohol HARAM to BEER with 0.0% Alcohol HARAM.

Reason for change of title is that there are plenty of new and old well known beverages that claim to be ALOCOHOL FREE and they are promoting it like it is made for everyone.


HEINEKEN 0.0

Ingredients: Water, Malted Barley, Hop Extract, Natural Flavourings

I have personally seen the posters outside mosques (on the bus stops), on the buses, on billboards and in the newspapers.

I have been sent photos of them from people asking if the drink was allowed or not.


Unfortunately, everyone sees only the big text and misses the small print.

Although the drink is advertised as 0.0% alcohol, the same advert has small print stating the percentage of alcohol present in the final drink.

The final Beer contains a minimum amount of alcohol at 0.05%

Many Muslim's are looking for an answer that will allow them to drink such a beer, not realizing that The Prophet (saw) told us that this will happen. Such drinks can be found in Muslim countries too, many with no alcohol at all, so naturally people are assuming that 0.0% Alcohol also means no alcohol.



This is clearly a Fitnah, misleading to everyone!

That is the aim of Shaitan!

Quote:

Heineken 0.0 is a new "no-alcohol" beer, what is the ruling for Muslims to consume it? 

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh

We begin at the outset by stating that you are mistaken. The small print for Heineken® 0.0 clearly states that the product has 0.05% alcohol.

We deem this drink to be impermissible for Muslims for the following reasons:

1) This drink contains alcohol which is deemed to be impermissible in the Qur'aan and the Sunnah 


يَـٰٓأَيُّہَا ٱلَّذِينَ ءَامَنُوٓاْ إِنَّمَا ٱلۡخَمۡرُ وَٱلۡمَيۡسِرُ وَٱلۡأَنصَابُ وَٱلۡأَزۡلَـٰمُ رِجۡسٌ۬ مِّنۡ عَمَلِ ٱلشَّيۡطَـٰنِ فَٱجۡتَنِبُوهُ لَعَلَّكُمۡ تُفۡلِحُونَ 

[5:90] O you who have believed, indeed, intoxicants, gambling, [sacrificing on] stone alters [to other than Allah ], and divining arrows are but defilement from the work of Satan, so avoid it that you may be successful.

وَعَنْ اِبْنِ عُمَرَ رَضِيَ اَللَّهُ عَنْهُمَا; عَنْ اَلنَّبِيِّ ‏- صلى الله عليه وسلم ‏-قَالَ:  كُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ خَمْرٌ, وَكُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ حَرَامٌ

Ibn 'Umar (RAA) narrated that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said:"Every intoxicant is Khamr, and every intoxicant is prohibited." [Muslim]

2) Since the purpose of beer is intoxication, the small amount is also considered to be impermissible 

قَالَ رَسُولُ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم ‏‏ كُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ حَرَامٌ مَا أَسْكَرَ الْفَرَقُ مِنْهُ فَمِلْءُ الْكَفِّ مِنْهُ حَرَامٌ ‏

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said: Every intoxicating substance is haram, and whatever intoxicates in large amounts, a handful of it is haram [Tirmidhi]

Someone may question the presence of small amounts of alcohol which is formed in-situ. The issue has been discussed in the following paper. The difference between Nabidh and Heineken® 0.0 is that Nabidh has specific Nass (evidence) for being permissible in Islam while Heineken® 0.0 has specific (evidence) for being impermissible.

irtis.org.uk/images/ArticlesBukha/The%20Effect%20of%20Con...

3) The origin of the beer and the presence of small amounts of alcohol makes the matter doubtful and we have been commanded to steer clear of doubtful matters.

عن الحسن بن علي رضي الله عنهما قال :  حفظت من رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم :  دَعْ مَا يَرِيبُكَ إِلَى مَا لَا يَرِيبُكَ ، فَإِنَّ الصِّدْقَ طُمَأْنِينَةٌ ، وَإِنَّ الْكَذِبَ رِيبَةٌ

Sayyiduna al-Hasan ibn ‘Ali (RA) who said: I memorized from the Messenger of Allah(ﷺ) : “Leave that which makes you doubt for that which does not make you doubt, for truth leads to reassurance and lies lead to uncertainty.” [Tirmidhi]

4) The consumption of beer and frequenting of pubs is a matter which is alien to Islam and contrary to the culture of Muslims.Allah Ta'ala has made thousands of drinks permissible and a Muslim is free to consume fruit drinks and all other sorts of beverages. 

We conclude by stating that the unfortunate set of circumstances leading to the consumption of Alcohol has been foretold in Ahadeeth. It was prophesied that there will be some among Muslims who will not only consume alcohol but consider it to be permissible! 

أَبُو مَالِكٍ ـ الأَشْعَرِيُّ وَاللَّهِ مَا كَذَبَنِي سَمِعَ النَّبِيَّ صلى الله عليه وسلم يَقُولُ ‏ "‏ لَيَكُونَنَّ مِنْ أُمَّتِي أَقْوَامٌ يَسْتَحِلُّونَ الْحِرَ وَالْحَرِيرَ وَالْخَمْرَ وَالْمَعَازِفَ

Abu 'Amir or Abu Malik Al-Ash'ari narrated that he heard the Prophet (ﷺ) saying, "From among my followers there will be some people who will consider illegal sexual intercourse, the wearing of silk, the drinking of alcoholic drinks and the use of musical instruments, as lawful... [Bukhari]
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 29th December 2017 23:05
Question: Did Imam Abu Hanifa distinguish between wine and beer?

Answer: Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah,

I pray this finds you in the best of health and states.

The short answer is yes, Imam Abu Hanifa did make a distinction between wine and beer with respect to legal categorization and some rulings, yet in any case, beer as consumed today is impermissible and sinful.

Imam Abu Hanifa — may Allah have mercy on him — had a very nuanced understanding of this issue, namely:

(a) Linguistically, khamr (wine) is alcohol derived from grapes. This is what is prohibited by decisive, unequivocal texts of the Qu’ran (see 5:90) and Noble Sunna, as the hadiths of its prohibition together comprise multiple-chain transmission (tawatur). Its prohibition is also confirmed by scholarly consensus.

Hence it is categorically unlawful (haram) and filthy (najis). Consuming any amount is unlawful, even if without intoxication. Moreover, deeming it lawful would entail disbelief.

(b) Alcohol derived from dates or raisins is also unlawful and filthy, again regardless of the amount consumed.

The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) said, “Intoxicants are from these two trees,” while pointing to grapevines and date-palms. [Sahih Muslim]. There is also consensus of the companions regarding this type of alcohol.

Yet this ruling is not based on decisive, unequivocal texts as is the case with khamr; its unlawfulness is rather based on legal judgment (ijtihad), and so its unlawfulness is not as severe as with khamr. Hence, deeming it lawful would not entail disbelief, although it would render the person religiously corrupt (fasiq).

(c) As for alcohol derived from honey, fig, wheat, barley or corn, it is impermissible and filthy when used *as an intoxicant*: that is, as intoxicants are used, in an amount that intoxicates, or if used in vain (lahw).

If not used in any such manner, it would be permissible and not filthy.

This ruling differs from the above since it is based on hadiths that are not decisive and unequivocal, although they are rigorously authentic (sahih), and since it is based also on legal analogy (qiyas).

[Mawsili, Ikhtiyar; Marghinani, Hidaya; Maydani, Lubab]
This is the categorization of Imam Abu Hanifa, based on his ijtihad. Beer would fall under the third category, as it is usually made from barley. The contemporary use of beer, however, clearly does not meet the criteria for permissibility. Beer is therefore sinful to consume and a filthy substance.

The ijtihad of Imam Abu Hanifa is a great mercy to the umma, especially today with respect to synthetic alcohols and the like which are widespread and prevalent in numerous products. Please see this related answer for a detailed fatwa on the matter:

Can We Use Deodorants and Perfumes That Contain Alcohol?

As the fatwa states, so as to reiterate the matter, alcohols from the third category would be permissible only if the following criteria are met:

(a) it is not used as an intoxicant;
(b) it is not used as intoxicants as used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little);
(c) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates;
(d) it is not used in vain (lahw).

And Allah knows best.
wassalam
Faraz

seekershub.org/ans-blog/2011/10/16/did-imam-abu-hanifa-di...
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 29th December 2017 23:17
Quote:
Can we drink non-alcoholic beer? Non-alcoholic beer contains 0.5% alcohol but it does not intoxicate. A beer can never be alcohol free because there is not any process that can make a beer totally alcohol free.
Answer

(Fatwa: 1677/1200/L=1432)

According to Firozul Lughat dictionary, Beer means a kind of wine that is made of barley”. [Firozul Lughat: P 254] If you mean this same beer then it is not lawful to drink.
قال عليه السلام ما أسكر كثيره فقليله حرام (أو كما قال عليه السلام) وبه قال الإمام محمد رحمة الله وعليه فتوى كما هو المذكور فى كتب الفقه .

Allah (Subhana Wa Ta’ala) knows Best

Darul Uloom Deoband

islamqa.org/hanafi/darulifta-deoband/22919
report post quote code quick quote reply
+2 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 29th December 2017 23:38
Loading tweet
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 29th December 2017 23:49
Screenshot_20171229-234240_1.jpg
Downloads: 86
    [235.50 kB]
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Creative x 1
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#6 [Permalink] Posted on 30th December 2017 15:42
Is Non-Alcoholic Beer Prohibited?


In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.

Thanks for your question, and we implore Allah to guide us all to the best way through which we can learn more about what is lawful in order to follow it and what is prohibited in order to refrain from approaching it.

Indeed, Muslims need to understand the process of making so-called non-alcoholic beers or wines. The process to make alcoholic and non-alcoholic beers and wines is the same. Both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beers and wines are haram. Once the beer or the wine is produced, alcohol is extracted from it to make it non-alcoholic. Never is 100 percent of the alcohol removed. The Islamic principle is that if the whole of a thing is haram, the part of it is also haram. By that principle non-alcoholic beers and wines are haram.

Responding to the question, the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore, states the following:

Thank you for your query.

Our position is that non-alcoholic beer is not halal. Our position is based on the premise that

1. It is drunk as an alternative to something which isharam, that is, alcoholic beer.

2. The culture of wine and beer drinking which the drink entails is non-Islamic and, therefore,haram.

Therefore, based on the principle of blocking the doors to transgression in Islamic jurisprudence, non-alcoholic beer is haram.

Islamic Religious Council of Singapore
archive.islamonline.net/?p=1255
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#7 [Permalink] Posted on 1st January 2018 10:37
Why would this be any more Haraam than all the fizzy drinks, crisps, chocolates, and other recreational food items which also have alcohol added as a carrier for favouring purposes? The Fatwa today is given on Imam Abu Hanifah. As long as the same conditions are kept for consuming fizzy drinks e.g. not for lahw, then it should be perfectly fine.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#8 [Permalink] Posted on 1st January 2018 12:57
guest24578 wrote:
View original post

Alcohol used as a carrier is different from what is used in these alcoholic beverages.

The alcohol used is different and the use of alcohol is for a different purpose and will not intoxicate even in large amounts.

Alcohol from certain sources will always remain haram.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
1,579
Brother
2,461
#9 [Permalink] Posted on 1st January 2018 23:02
Looking at twitter Muslims in US celebrating New Year with Alcohol free champagne. The futures here and its not very bright.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
8,102
Brother
6,367
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#10 [Permalink] Posted on 4th January 2018 15:36

Anonymous wrote:
View original post

In addition to what has already been explained, there is one simple and obvious difference

  1. Beer is designed and meant for intoxication
  2. Small quantities of "Ethanol" in your ice-cream is not for intoxication


قَالَ رَسُولُ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم ‏‏ كُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ حَرَامٌ مَا أَسْكَرَ الْفَرَقُ مِنْهُ فَمِلْءُ الْكَفِّ مِنْهُ حَرَامٌ ‏
 

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said: Every intoxicating substance is haram, and whatever intoxicates in large amounts, a handful of it is haram [Tirmidhi]

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
#11 [Permalink] Posted on 5th January 2018 16:04
Muadh_Khan wrote:
View original post


So the main issue is the amount of alcohol not the type of alcohol itself?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#12 [Permalink] Posted on 5th January 2018 16:43

guest5533 wrote:
View original post
It can be a bit of both - type and quantity. Some types in more quantity is not always Haram and some types, even in less quantities will still be Haram.

Hope this also helps the readers.

askimam.org/public/question_detail/19680

Category: Food
Fatwa#: 19680
Asked Country: Bangladesh
Answered Date: Jan 02,2012
 
Title: Is whisky or beer without alcohol Halāl?
 
Question

I want to know is there any halal whisky or beer that could be taken by the Muslims? if any beer or whisky has zero percent alcohol ,is it then halal? please give a good answer ,i mean straight answer. 

Answer

Kindly provide us with your understanding of “Halāl whisky or beer” i.e. making process and the meaning of Halāl whisky and beer.

Never the less, hereunder are some articles on non alcoholic beer. In essence it is still an intoxicant as understood from the articles.

 

Facts about non-alcoholic beer

History of Non-Alcoholic Beer

Non-alcoholic beer had its beginning in America during the Prohibition in 1919.  At this time brewing companies, such as Anheuser-Busch, Miller, and Schlitz, began producing “near beer” to get around the law of that time.  These drinks were malted beverages that had very low alcohol content (less than .5% alcohol by volume).  In order to remove the alcohol, it was either boiled or filtered from the beer.  It was argued by many that the process of removing the alcohol left the beer tasteless.  Over time, however, people found a way to sneak alcohol back into the bottle or keg of beer, an illegal process that resulted in “spiked beer”.

Today near beer is still made and sold, and in many states it is legal for even minors to purchase and drink it, though some states do require a person to be 21 to drink “non-alcoholic beer”.  This is because even non-alcoholic beer has some alcohol in it.http://www.treatmentsolutionsnetwork.com/blog/index.php/2009/01/23/184/

Low-alcohol beer

Low-alcohol beer (also called non-alcoholic or NA beer, small beer, small ale, or near-beer) isbeer with very low or no alcohol content. Most low-alcohol beers are lagers, but there are some low-alcohol ales.

In the United States, beverages containing less than 0.5% alcohol by volume (ABV) were legally called non-alcoholic, according to the now-defunct Volstead Act. Because of its very low alcohol content, non-alcoholic beer may be legally sold to minors in many American states.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-alcohol_beer

Non-alcoholic beverage

A non-alcoholic beverage is a beverage that contains less than 0.5% alcohol by volume.[1]Non-alcoholic versions of some alcoholic beverages, such as non-alcoholic beer ("near beer") and cocktails ("mocktails") are widely available where alcoholic beverages are sold.

Sodasjuices, and sparkling cider contain no alcohol, but non-alcoholic beer and non-alcoholic wine undergo an alcohol-removal process that may leave a small amount of alcohol. Because of this, some states have legal restrictions on non-alcoholic beer and wine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-alcoholic_beverage

 

Beer 101: How is Non-Alcoholic Beer Made?

Have you ever wondered how non-alcoholic beer is made? Even more importantly, have you ever wondered why non-alcoholic beer even exists?

Non-alcoholic beer, or "near beer," goes back the days of Prohibition. President Wilson first tried to compromise with the Temperance Society by proposing that beer alcohol content be reduced to 2.5%. However, even this ABV was not low enough for the Society. Thus, the “noble experiment” went forward with only 0.5% ABV beer being legal for many years. In a strange ironic twist, near beer was often secretly spiked with grain alcohol and sold illegally. 

Luckily for Wisconsin, prohibition was softened when voters amended the Violated Act in 1926 to allow for the manufacture and sale of beer with an ABV of up to 2.75%. Still, prohibition was not repealed until 1933 with the passage of the 21st amendment.

In the meantime, breweries like today’s Minhas Brewery, located in Monroe, Wisconsin, survived the dry times by making “near-beer” such as Golden Glow (with 2% ABV), ice cream, and soft drinks. The Blatz Brewery, located in Milwaukee, also tried its hand at making near beer, juices, and chewing gum.

Due to the American populace subsisting on near beer for 13 years (1920-1933), many were inured to lighter beer by the time Prohibition was repealed. Going back to strong English ales or German Pilsners was unthinkable. Likewise, due to many private and illegal beer making operations, which often consisted of amateur brewers making what accounted to swill in their bathtubs, many folks were downright uneasy about imbibing in full-taste brews and microbrews. Thus, breweries like Miller, Schlitz, and Pabst were set for making mass-produced light beer, and even non-alcoholic beer.

Non-alcoholic beer starts out as regular alcoholic beer, which is then cooked in order to evaporate the alcohol. This is possible because alcohol has a lower boiling point than water, making it easier to boil off. As opposed to water, which boils at 100 °C (212 °F), alcohol will boil at 78.6 °C (173.5 °F). Most modern breweries also utilize vacuum evaporation to speed up the boiling process. In essence, the beer is placed under a light vacuum to facilitate the alcohol molecules going into gaseous phase. If a sufficient vacuum is applied, it may not even be necessary to cook the beer.

Of course, no amount of boiling or vacuum will ever completely remove all the alcohol, which is why even non-alcoholic beer will typically contain about 0.5% alcohol. One could attempt to remove the alcohol through distillation, but this would be a long and expensive process.

Amazingly, it is still possible for some people to get drunk from non-alcoholic beer. At least 15 states in the U.S. do not allow the sale of non-alcoholic beer to minors under the age of 21, while other states set the sale restriction for minors under the age of 18. It's not surprising, given what happens when minors get a hold of non-alcoholic beer.

http://www.examiner.com/craft-beer-in-madison/beer-101-how-is-non-alcoholic-beer-made

How Are Nonalcoholic Beer and Wine Made?

Put simply, you make alcoholic beer or wine, and then remove the alcohol. You do this by distilling the beverage, as if you were going to make liquor. But rather than save the booze and throw out the rest, you throw out the booze.

When you make alcohol, you typically heat up whatever it is you’re distilling to boil off the alcohol (which you collect in vapor form, then cool back into liquid). It doesn’t matter all that much if the water, syrups, herbs, and whatever else that’s in your base get a little cooked in the process, because you’re tossing out most of that in the end anyway. When making nonalcoholic beverages, though, maintaining the flavor of the base is important, because you’ll save that part, and you want it to taste as much like real beer or wine as possible. So you don’t want to cook it.

There are two ways to get the booze out that does not require high heat. The first is a process called vacuum distillation. The beer or wine is put under a vacuum. The change in atmospheric pressure allows the producer to boil the liquids at a lower temperature or in some cases with no heat at all, and distill off the alcohol.

The second process is called reverse osmosis, and is the same method often used to purify drinking water. It doesn’t require any heating. The wine or beer is passed through a filter with pores so small that only alcohol and water (and a few volatile acids) can pass through. The alcohol is distilled out of the alcohol-water mix using conventional distillation methods, and the water and remaining acids are added back into the syrupy mixture of sugars and flavor compounds left on the other side of the filter. Bingo a nonalcoholic (or dealcoholized, as winemakers call it) brew.

But do nonalcoholic beers and wines taste the same as alcoholic ones? Almost. Most of the flavor of real beer and wine comes from the grain or grapes, plus flavor compounds from the fermentation and aging process. Nonalcoholic beers and wines still have all that. Alcohol in the real stuff contributes mouth feel and a small amount of flavor. It actually makes wine taste sweeter, says Jeff Meier, vice president of winemaking for J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, which makes Ariel nonalcoholic wines. This means that a dealcoholized wine needs about 2.5 percent residual sugar content to best match a completely dry (no residual sugar) alcoholic wine.

“Nonalcoholic” beverages still contain some alcohol, because it’s difficult and prohibitively expensive to get every single bit of it out. In order to be called nonalcoholic under federal laws, a beverage can contain up to half a percent of alcohol by volume. (Something with no alcohol at all is called alcohol-free.) So people who are forbidden to drink alcohol, like devout Muslims, can’t partake in so-called nonalcoholic beer and wine. Nor can people under the age of 21, according to the law. It takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager, says George Reisch, a veteran brewer with Anheuser-Busch and the former brew master of O’Doul’s.

One last point, about carbonation: When making nonalcoholic sparkling wine, producers do a secondary fermentation just like they do with regular sparkling wine. But the alcohol it produces is less than .5 percent, so the wine is still considered nonalcoholic. As for the carbonation in beer, like in most alcoholic beer, it’s “forced” with a charge of carbon dioxide at the brewery.

http://www.chow.com/food-news/53912/how-are-nonalcoholic-beer-and-wine-made/

Non-alcoholic beer

Non-alcoholic beer is a poorly named beverage, because it does contain some alcohol. Most brands of non-alcoholic beer are about 0.5 percent alcohol. This is significantly less alcohol than what is contained in alcoholic beer, which has an average alcohol percentage of 5%. Essentially, one would have to drink 10 non-alcoholic beers in order to obtain the same alcohol as that of a regular beer.

The reason non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol is because it starts its life as regular beer in most cases. The alcohol is removed after the brewing process has ended. This is accomplished through evaporation, which basically means cooking the beer until most of the alcohol is gone, then bottling the results.

For those who enjoy making beer at home, there are a number of recipes for non-alcoholicbeer. These recipes usually start by combining the regular ingredients used to make a favorite homemade beer. Some suggest reducing the sugar content and type for the non-alcoholic beer, since some sugars like corn sugars naturally ferment more easily.

Once the brewing is complete, the beer needs to be brought to alcohol’s boiling point, which is about 173.5 degrees Fahrenheit (78.61 degrees Celsius). The beer should continue to boil at this temperature for half an hour to reduce as much alcohol as possible. Some veteran beer makers suggest that the best way to accomplish this boiling is an oven, which provides more even heat, and seems to have little affect the beer’s final taste.

http://www.wisegeek.com/how-is-non-alcoholic-beer-made.htm

Non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol

Non-alcoholic beer is a low alcohol beer with alcohol content of less than .5% of its volume. It is important to note that non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol, and that none of the beers currently on the market are completely alcohol free.

Although so called non-alcoholic beers are actually alcoholic despite of their names, non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol up to 0.5% because of the production methods, and not because of the brewer’s desire.  A person drinking enough of this non-alcoholic beer could actually get drunk.  For example if the non-alcoholic beer you're drinking has 0.1% alcohol, you can, theoretically drink 5 times more than if you would be  drinking beer with 0.5% alcohol, and reach the legal alcohol limit.

http://alcohol-statistics-in-europe.own69.com/non_alcoholic_beer_contains_alcohol/

Facts about non-alcoholic wine or beer
 

1.  Alcohol free wine or beer is made from real wine or beer. Wines from grape, date, honey, wheat is Khamr and Khamr is Haram according to several ahadith. 
 

2.  The composition of wine is: 
Water 80-85%, Alcohol 10-20%, Acids 0.4 - 1%, Sugar 0.1%(because all sugar in grape is used to produce alcohol), Mineral Salts 0.2 to 0.4%, Coloring substances 0.01 to 0.5%, 
Aromatic substances 0.01 to 0.1%, Sulphites 10 to 200 Part Millions 
 

3. Manufacturing processes used in manufacture of alcohol free wine or beer: 

a. Alcohol free wine beverages is produced by using US patented process(4775538) where table wine is combined with demineralized water and poured into a centrifugal evaporator where alcohol is spin off to produce a alcohol free wine base. Then grape juice concentrate is added to alcohol free wine base to make alcohol free wine. 
b. Vacuum Distillation where real wine or real beer is exposed to vacuum. Where due to change in atmospheric pressure with low heat or no heat the alcohol is distilled off. 
c. Reverse Osmosis, a procedure used to clean impurities from drinking water. Most American homes has this unit under their kitchen sinks. The reverse Osmosis has filters with very minutes pores Through these pores filters only alcohol and water with volatile acids in wine or in beer is filtered out of wine or beer without heat. Then those volatile acid and water is put back to a mixture of syrupy mixture of sugar, flavor compounds on the other side of filter after distilling out the alcohol from alcohol and water acid mixture. This is also called dealcoholized wine or beer. 
d. Non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer is made with a secondary fermentation to produce a non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer with less than 0.5% alcohol. Then carbon dioxide is forced to make a carbonated non alcoholic beer. 
 

4. Another fact is that all the experts in this industry said that it is very difficult and very expensive to eliminate all alcohol from wine or beer.

This is the reason Non Alcoholic beverages still contain some original alcohol from wine or beer. This leads to a US Federal Law about Non Alcoholic wine or beer which states that Non Alcoholic wine or beer can contain up to 0.5% "original alcohol of wine or beer by volume." 
If you consider above breakdown of grape wine, the non alcoholic grape wine contains 5% to 10% original amount of wine in the Non Alcoholic grape wine based on 10% to 20% alcohol content in grape wine and if the Non Alcoholic grape wine contains maximum 0.5% original alcohol of wine or beer by volume according to US federal law. 

So based on this calculation who decides to consume Non Alcoholic grape wine is consuming 5% to 10% of original grape wine in Non Alcoholic grape wine. 
 

5. Another fact is that many producers of Non Alcoholic wine and beer want to keep the same original flavors compounds in Non Alcoholic wine or beer because to match original flavor and taste of wine or beer. Sometimes they add 2-2.5% residual sugar content to match a completely dry alcoholic wine. Some companies advertized that their Non Alcoholic wine or beer contains same original abundant flavors of original wine and beer. 

It was reported in research that it takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager. 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Zaid Mohammed Shelia, 
Student Darul Iftaa

USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#13 [Permalink] Posted on 5th January 2018 16:49
guest5533 wrote:
View original post


www.daruliftaa.com/node/5551?txt_QuestionID

In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.

Allah Most High says:

“O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper.” (al-An’am, 90)

Sayyiduna Abu Hurayra (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes.” (Sahih Muslim, no. 1985)

However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa & Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both) from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.

They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Hurayra (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication.” (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306)

However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types of beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their argument on the following two Hadiths:

Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, Sunan Timidhi and others)

Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden.” (Sunan Abu Dawud, no. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others)

Thus, according two these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.

The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna.

Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:

“Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position.”

Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:

“Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik & Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah & al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether.” (Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455)

The upshot of all of the foregoing is that, now all the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).

However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him) himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them is from other than grapes, dates and barley (or synthetic alcohol), and these types of alcohols will be although unlawful (haram) to consume, but not impure for external application. In other words, the view of Imam Abu Hanifa and Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both) may be used for external application of these alcohols but not for oral intake.

In our times, because of the widespread use of alcohol in all sorts of things, it has become very difficult to avoid it. This is why great Hanafi scholars of our times have given the abovementioned fatwa, in that the external use of this type of alcohol is not Haram. However, its oral intake is still impermissible except in cases of necessary medication.

Shaykh Mufti Muhammad Taqi Usmani (may Allah preserve him) states in his monumental Arabic work Takmila Fath al-Mulhim:

“With the above (explanation given by Shaykh Taqi on the different types of alcohol), the ruling with regards to the various types of alcohol, the usage of which has become widespread and they are used in many medicines and perfumes, becomes known, in that if the alcohol is extracted from grapes or dates, then there is no question of it being permissible or pure. However, if the alcohol is derived from other than grapes or dates, then there is no problem according to the view of Imam Abu Hanifa, in that it will not be unlawful to use such alcohol (m, and perfumes and medicines made thereof) for medical or other lawful purposes as long as the alcohol does not reach the level of intoxication…. And normally the alcohol used in medicines, perfumes, etc is not extracted from grapes and dates, rather it is derived from seeds, honey, chemicals, petrol, etc. (Takmila Fath al-Mulhim Sharh Sahih Muslim, 3/608)

To summarise, it would be permitted to use the various types of perfumes, deodorants and creams that contain alcohol due to the fact that the alcohol contained in them is from other than grapes, dates and barley or it is a synthetic alcohol (formulated from chemical substances) and not the khamr (wine) that is absolutely impermissible and filthy.

However, it is more religiously precautionary to avoid using such perfumes and deodorants, whenever reasonably possible, because of the differences of opinion regarding it.

But it should be remembered that, occasionally certain deodorants, perfumes, etc contain alcohol that is derived from grapes, dates, etc, such as synthetic ethyl alcohol, thus making the perfume or cream impure and unlawful to use.

And Allah Knows Best

[Mufti] Muhammad ibn Adam
Darul Iftaa
Leicester , UK
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
19,196
Brother
5,545
abu mohammed's avatar
#14 [Permalink] Posted on 5th January 2018 16:58
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
8,102
Brother
6,367
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#15 [Permalink] Posted on 7th January 2018 19:36

Anonymous wrote:
View original post

I understand where you are coming from but let me try explaining the issue again.

Point 1:

  1. Anything which INTOXICATES is Haram in Islam. This could be beer, wine, whiskey or even Cannabis
  2. If it is meant for INTOXICATION then even a drop of it is Haram even though a single drop will ofcourse not intoxicate you

Point 2:

askimam.org/public/question_detail/33653

In the Madhab of Imam Abu Haneefa (RA), Alcohol derived from grapes and Alcohol is ABSOLUTELY HARAM. Alcohol derived fron any other source is HARAM if it is:

  1. Meant for INTOXICATION
  2. Used in Futiility

In 2017 commerical beer is not made from Grapes/dates, nevertheless it  is HARAM because it is:

  1. FUTILE (used for enjoyment) and serves no other purpose
  2. it INTOXICATES

Thus EVEN a drop of Alcohol (which is meant for INTOXICATION) is Haram even though the source may be synthetic

Point 3:

Ethyl Alcohol used in foods (as preservative) is not Haram because:

  1. It is not from Grapes/Dates
  2. It is not used in futility and vain (serves a purpose)
  3. It is not for INTOXICATION and does not INTOXICATE. It does not INTOXICATE i.e. you can eat 100 Kilograms of ice-cream in one sitting and no have any affects of INOXICATION

Point 4:

The opinion in the Madhab of Imam Abu Haneefa (RA) reflects "Alcohol" as understood by (modern) science. Alcohol in chemistry is a class of compounds and not a single object against which you can give a blanket ruling.

If someone follows any other Madhab, we respect their opinion but we disagree from Fiqh and scientific point of view.

A simle sugar + Yeast reaction gives Alcohol

Sugar + yeast —> alcohol + carbon dioxide

Or

C6H12O6 + yeast ——> CH3CH2OH + CO2

Many Ulama don't understand that Alcohol is a class and not an object and there is no point in discussing the topic with them any further. Those who follow these Ulama, there is no point in discussing anything with them either as the discussion will lead to nowhere!

Summary:

At the beginning of last century, many Ulama disagreed on the matter of "Alcohol" as advancement meant that increasingly Alcohol was used a universal solvent and also for its preservative qualities. There was Alcohol used internally, commonly 50 years. People my age were given a spoon of BRANDY in Pakistan as cough medicine regularly by doctors and Gripe Water contained Alcohol, there are plenty of pictures of me drinking gripe water (which actually had Alcohol).

Then there was medicinal Alcohol usage.

If you pickup Fatawaa from 60-70 years ago you will see very black and white Fataawa from the Indian Subcontient because HOW it is used and WHAT it is used was not well understood OR you will no Fatwaas on cough medicines which were basically BRANDY!

 

Drinking this in industrial strength and dosages may blind you, damage you and eventually KILL YOU. It is no meant for Intoxication.

Today (in 2017) many Ulama understand Alcohol and its various kinds and usages. Some DO NOT, they continue to quote Fatawaa from nearly a century ago when these matters may not have been known by Ulama.

There are Ulama (today) who don't lead or pray behind someone praying on a Microphone or don't use binoculars or telescopes for Moonsighting. This is an example to show you that you CANNOT win against certain people.

Again, we respect their opinion but disagree.

Warning:

We live in end times so we are dealing with two kinds of Extremists.

  1. EXTREMISTS' ONE: Those who don't understand Alcohol and say that Ulama who permit small doses of Ethyl Alcohol (or Ethanol) in food products (as preservative etc) are permitting usage of Alcohol in the name of something else and they even quote the Hadeeth which predicts common use of Alcohol (by another name)
  2. EXTREMISTS' TWO: These allow the usage of Low-Alcohol or No-Alcohol beer in the name of Islam

You usually cannot win against Extremists!

Indian/Pakistan English:

Those who speak English in India/Pakistan commonly think that Alcohol is Haram because it is "addictive" and they argue by asking as to why Tea is not Haram so let me repeat...

Alcohol has two issues, it is:

  1. Addictive
  2. Intoxicative

It is Haram due to 2 and not 1.

Charas, Ganga, Weed, Bhang are all Haram due to 2 and not 1.

Although usually, these sort of evils are usually both 1 & 2.

(Common) tea is addictive but DOES NOT intoxicate and that is why it is not Haram.

PIETY DIARRHOEA:

Hazrat Thanwi (RA) has written that some people have PIETY DIARRHOEA (Taqwa Ka Haiza) i.e. everything they do or deem to be correct is the height of piety and everybody else is lacking in Taqwa.

Needless to say that you cannot win against someone who has PIETY DIARRHOEA (Taqwa Ka Haiza).

report post quote code quick quote reply
+2 -0Like x 1
back to top

 

Quick Reply

CAPTCHA - As you are a guest, you are required to answer the following:


In the above image: What part of the day is the background image (it's not day)?