Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 
Top Members

halal pizza places

You have contributed 0.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#16 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:16
But I am not sure if the modern PROCESS of obtaining the rennet from non halal slaughtered animals affects the halal status of the cheese. Hardly any standard hanafi fatwas comment on that. I have only seen that mentioned as being problematic in one fatwa.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#17 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:25
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf wrote:
View original post

From what i understand, pepsin is component of rennet, so the source of the rennet used in making cheese would be the source of the pepsin.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#18 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:28
In adult Pigs the Predominant form of Gastric Protease is derived from Pepsin A.

Science Direct.com.

Essentially Pigs have large quantities of Pepsin in their stomachs. Hence the reason for the commercial form being derived from them.




report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#19 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:36
Concerned wrote:
View original post

Google the following and you will have your answer.

"Pepsin vs Rennet In Cheese Making."
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#20 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:49
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf wrote:
View original post

The primary result that states pepsin replaced rennet in cheese making is from a paper from 1919.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,204
Brother
9,625
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#21 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:51
10
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf wrote:
View original post


Dead common and simple issue in America and millions of Muslims navigate it easily.

  1. Pepsin isn't commonly used due to price point and as I stated CHY-MAX supplies many major chains and Franchises can be asked and they will respond and Franchises have an "America-wide" policy of procurement
  2. Vegetarian and Vegan wave is now common in America and increasingly people ask for such choices, the latest fad is "Meat Free Burgers" and in most major cities in America I found grocery shops stocking "Beyond Meat". In our own city in the deep south, Burger King and Macdonald have meat free options.
  3. In Pizza, its easy to ask for "Vegetarian Cheese" and explain what you mean, they call in the Manager and the question can be answered. Muslims then mark these stores and information is shared and families order or eat from specific stores. There is no such thing as "Hanafi" etc in America expect in the minds of some people, most American mark stores and products as "Halal" .
  4. In bigger cities there are many Muslim owned businesses


The issue becomes when you detach yourself from your country/society and ask unusual questions which are foreign to the society in which you operate, two examples:

  1. Asking for or looking for Kosher products in UK is an unusual question in most settings, the alternative is to look for "Suitable for Vegetarian" and then further question.
  2. Asking for "Suitable for Vegetarian" in America outside "posh circles" will get you a blank look as this isn't a term so in commercial super markets you start with "Kosher" and further your research. In restaurants you say "I don't eat meat" and they go O...Sure let me check it for you because it is something they are very familiar with specially the younger Americans (likely to be serving you) because it is vogue


The most important question before even asking about "Halal" is where do you like and then "how to ask" instead of Madhabs and xyz...

The reason you don't bring the Madhab debate into this is because most Americans don't have a problem with "Cheese" because of two reasons:

  1. They follow the evidence of Sahabah (RA) that cheese is cheese is Halal
  2. Many Deobandi Ulama follow Mufti Taqi Usmani (HA) and also believe that cheese is Halal except if the ingredients comes from "Pork"



Once again, here you have someone who is importing issues from other cultures and opinions into their lands and then debating on the merits of "differences of opinion" among Ulama on a forum and creating a problem where none exists.

If someone disagrees with "rennet" opinion, easy to avoid in America, look for "Vegetarian Cheese" and explain your reasons to Americans in an American way so they comprehend and problems solved in less then a minute.

You have to understand that the "Deobandees" a bubble in America who operate within a few families outside of major cities where it is few Mosques and few communities (at best)

P.S: Replace "Deobandi" with "Hanafi" which is followed by some Sufees religiously and the rest of the post still stands...Operate in your setting with local know-how and you can also follow your Madhab and there are no issues
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Winner x 1
back to top