Forum Menu - Click/Swipe to open
 
Top Members

halal pizza places

You have contributed 0.0% of this topic

Thread Tools
Appreciate
Topic Appreciation
To appreciate this topic, click 'Appreciate Topic' on the right.
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
22
Brother
0
#1 [Permalink] Posted on 31st July 2020 06:38
salamalykum i am aware that there is a problem in buying cheese products because some of them have haram ingredients. does anybody know which of the halal pizza franchises are halal? does anybody have like a list of all the halal and haram ones?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#2 [Permalink] Posted on 31st July 2020 15:44
yamanemati wrote:
View original post


That would depend on what country you are in.


report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
22,682
Brother
9,064
abu mohammed's avatar
#3 [Permalink] Posted on 31st July 2020 17:12
yamanemati wrote:
View original post

What ingredient in the cheese is haram?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#4 [Permalink] Posted on 31st July 2020 17:33
abu mohammed wrote:
View original post


Rennet, pepsin or Liapase are added in production of cheese sometimes, to help thicken the milk to produce the Curd.

report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
22
Brother
0
#5 [Permalink] Posted on 1st August 2020 01:17
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf wrote:
View original post


America
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
abu mohammed's avatar
London
22,682
Brother
9,064
abu mohammed's avatar
#6 [Permalink] Posted on 1st August 2020 01:34
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#7 [Permalink] Posted on 1st August 2020 01:48
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0Like x 1
back to top
Rank Image
Muadh_Khan's avatar
Offline
UK
11,205
Brother
9,625
Muadh_Khan's avatar
#8 [Permalink] Posted on 1st August 2020 12:26
yamanemati wrote:
View original post


W-Salam,

IF you live in UK, ask if the Cheese is vegetarian as it is clearly labelled by all manufacturers.

IF you live elsewhere, you can ask but you will get strange looks although it is now increasingly common e.g. Pizza Hut worldwide (generally) use Microbial Rennet in their Pizzas and has been for a decade which is called CHY-MAX

www.vrg.org/journal/vj2011issue1/2011_issue1_chymax.php

Dominoes will also tell you about the "Microbial Cheese" option and it is available

www.vrg.org/blog/2013/11/18/parmesan-asiago-cheese-on-dom...

CHY-MAX supply many chains in the US so the information can be found by asking...

I don't want to argue with you from the Fiqh point of view, I am just letting you know that it is a very simple issue to crack. If the restaurant does not tell you the source of the cheese you simply don't eat and walk out.
report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#9 [Permalink] Posted on 1st August 2020 15:28
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf wrote:
View original post

But would still be considered halal by hanafis right?
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#10 [Permalink] Posted on 1st August 2020 16:00
Concerned wrote:
View original post


Allahu'Alam best to consult a Mufti.

Pepsin is from pigs. That is absolutely haram.

Rennet and laipase I believe can come come from both pigs or cattle.

So the question is Rennet only halal if the cattle have been slaughtered in halal manner...? Thats something to discuss with a Mufti.

Then their is something called microbial Rennet which is synthetically produced and vegetarian. Thats why cheese in uk has a vegetarian label on it. I dont know if they have such labelling in America/ Canada.





report post quote code quick quote reply
+1 -0
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#11 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 04:10
Quote:

So the question is Rennet only halal if the cattle have been slaughtered in halal manner...? Thats something to discuss with a Mufti.


Majority of hanafi Muftis allow cheese with renet from animals not slaughtered for halal consumption. In other words they say one can eat non veg cheese from supermarkets once the rennet isn't from pigs.

I am not familiar with pepsin and liapase hence my query.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#12 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 04:14
Rennet /ˈrɛnɪt/ is a complex set of enzymes produced in the stomachs of ruminant mammals. Chymosin, its key component, is a protease enzyme that curdles the casein in milk. In addition to chymosin, rennet contains other enzymes, such as pepsin and a lipase.
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#13 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 10:28
Concerned wrote:
View original post



Are all cheese Halal?

Ingredients called enzymes are needed to make cheese. Three enzymes used to make cheese are pepsin, lipase and rennet. These enzymes can be from animal, vegetable or microbial sources. Animal sources include pigs and cattle. Pepsin is derived from pigs, and is Haram. Lipase derived from pigs or cattle are Haram. Lipase from cattle slaughtered according to Islamic requirements or lipase produced by micro-organisms is Halal. Rennet is derived from the stomach of calves. If the calf was slaughtered according to Islamic requirements, the rennet is Halal. Microbial enzymes are not derived from meat and are Halal. Cheese products manufactured with microbial/bacterial cultures are Halal. Most cheese products do not list the source of the enzyme. Call the food manufacturer to find out the source of the enzyme. In addition, it is possible that the source may change without notification.

www.halalrc.org/faq.php
report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Offline
Unspecified
914
Brother
332
#14 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:05
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf wrote:
View original post

Pepsin isn't necessarily derived from Pigs. Search most hanafi fiqh q&a sites and you will get the standard answer that cheese is halal once rennet isn't from pig, whether animal has been slaughtered correctly or not. Here is one such response:

Animal rennet Halaal?
Questions
Published: 2003-08-31
Could you please tell me if Whey is derived from animal? Is is Haram? I have noticed that any products with Whey does not say "suitable for Vegetarians". What about cheeses? I have heard that most cheeses are from Rennet. Could you please explain what that is and tell me which cheeses I should avoid? Especially French cheeses like camembert, goat cheese...
Answer
Views: 4,212,864
Updated: 2009-04-09
Read the following article carefully taken from the Muslim Food Guide by Mufti Yusuf Sacha and Please be advised that this is the view according to the Hanaafi Madh-hab:

Rennet is an enzyme used in the food industry for the preparation of cheese by curdling milk. Rennet extracted from the stomach of a calf or animal whose meat is Halaal (lawful) after slaughtering in accordance with Islamic Thabh is unanimously Halaal (permissible) for consumption. If the above mentioned animals were not slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law then the Honourable Saahibayn of the Hanafi Legal School, Imam Abu Yusuf and Imam Muhammad, hold the view that the rennet itself is Halaal but its consumption would be Haraam (unlawful) because of its contamination with impure moisture etc. found in the stomach of the animal. According to them, rennet is fluid or viscous [running] and because of the penetration and saturation of impure moisture it would be impossible to purify it, therefore such rennet would remain Haraam.

However, Imaam Abu Hanifah does not regard the moisture found in the stomach of the above mentioned animals to be impure. Therefore the rennet obtained from them is Halaal, according to him.

The permissibility of rennet, therefore, is not really dependent on the slaughterer being Muslim or non-Muslim but upon whether there is life in rennet or not, and whether it absorbs the impurities found in the stomach of a newly born slaughtered calf. This is the outcome of the difference between Imaam Abu Hanifah and his two students, the Saahibayn,

Because of this difference in the opinion of the school, the Fatwa (legal opinion) allows a person to consume rennet (in the form of cheese etc.). Whilst Taqwa (piety) desires abstinence.

Allah Knows Best.

Further clarification and authentification.

1) In a commentary of the hadith text, Mishqatul Masaabeeh, by the famous Hanafi, scholar, Ali Qaari, Mirqaat, volume 8, page 193, is mentioned in the Kitaabul A�timah, Fasl Thaani.

Ibn Umar, radhiallahu anhu, narrates that our Rasul, sallallahu alayhi wasallam, was given a piece of Jubnah [Cheese] in Tabuk; he called for a knife, praying the tasmiyya he cut it [and ate it] narrated by Abu Dawud.

In the commentary, is mentioned; in this is proof of the purity of anfahah, because if it was impure then the cheese itself would be impure for it cannot be made without it [anfahah].

Again In this commentary in volume 2, page 79/80 is mentioned, in Bab Mash alal Khufayn, Fasl Awwal.

Tabraani narrates with a good sanad, although Ghareeb, that in one of the ghazawah, cheese was brought to Nabi sallallahu alayhi wasallam; He asked where it was made? Someone replied in Persia or in the lands of the Majus. Place the knife on it [cut it] and eat it. Someone said; O Rasulullah, we fear it may be carrion [Maitah]. He replied pray the tasmiyyah and eat it. Tirmidhi has mentioned a hadith wherein the Prophet was given a pair of leather socks and he wore them, without knowing whether they were pure or not. In the hadith of Salmaan, our Rasul was questioned regarding Jubn [cheese], Simn [clarifed butter] and Faraa�e [leather] together with the fact that it was taken from the lands of the Majus. It was mentioned to Umar regarding Jubn [cheese] and said to him that the rennet of dead animals are put in it [cheese]. He replied pray the tasmiyyah and eat it. Imam Ahmad mentions that this is the most sound hadith regarding cheese manufactured by Majus.

From the above commentaries it is evident that if rennet is derived from an animal that is permissible to eat, despite how it is slaughtered, it is Halaal to eat such cheese, despite the method used in the making of cheese.The rennet formed by the milk drunk by a newly born calf, which is then slaughtered and taken from its stomach is somewhat solid and has the effect of solidifying liquid milk and transforming it into cheese. Its permissibility though seemingly irrational because what is within the womb and stomach is under the law of impurity but the permissibility of cheese is established by Nass [Sharii proof] and agreed, therefore rennet is pure and permissible Fatwa Mazahir Ulum Volume 1 page 110.

2) Mufti Taqi� Uthmaani, mentions that the ruling of Hadhraat Saahibayn is more cautious whilst that of Imaam Abu Hanifah is extensive or accommodating. If a pious person refrains it is better, whilst if a person is consuming cheese do not stop him. However, the rennet derived from the stomach of a pig is Haraam and Impure, provided its original property and chemical makeup does not undergo any drastic change.

Vegetarian or synthetic rennet, if nothing impure has been added to it will be Halaal. The cheese sold in supermarkets and shops, if it is vegetarian or derived from animals slaughtered Islamically is permissible to consume. On the other hand if it is pig rennet used in the cheese, without transformation then this is not permissible. Lastly, the rennet in cheese from animals other than pig is permissible, but abstention is desirable.

Bahr al-Raa�iq Volume 1 page 112/3

Register of the Fatawa Darul Ulum Karachi Number 175 23A Dated 11/3/ 1415

We quoted the actual Fatwa (legal verdict) regarding rennet used in cheese, by Mufti Nizamuddin Sahab in the MFG, and the following points from it are noteworthy.

3) 3.1) According to Imaam Abu Hanifah the rennet of Halaal (permissible) animals which have not been slaughtered according to Islamic law is Ja�iz (permissible for consumption). Thus the animal which has been slaughtered by a non-Muslim is also one which has not been slaughtered according to Islamic law and therefore the rennet extracted from such an animal is Ja�iz.

The reason being that the lawfulness of rennet does not depend upon the slaughterer being a Muslim or non-Muslim, in fact it depends upon whether there is life in it or not. If there is no life in rennet then death cannot occur because life and death are opposites. The circulation of blood in an organ is the cause of life. No blood flows through rennet therefore rennet is not a living organism. To consume and use rennet is permissible. The Honourable Saahibayn�s difference in opinion in this is connected to the fact that rennet is situated in close proximity to impure substances contained in the stomach of the animal irrespective of whether the rennet from the animal was extracted and slaughtered by a Muslim or a non-Muslim.

3.2) If it is known with certainty that rennet is obtained from liquid substance extracted from pigs then such rennet is absolutely Haraam.

3.3) The rennet obtained from an animal slaughtered by a non-Muslim or Muslim in accordance with Islamic law or contrary to it, is in all cases Ja�iz as long as the animal in question is not a pig. This is the opinion of Imaam Abu Hanifah. According to the Saahibayn it is Impure.

3.4) Rennet extracted from plants is Halaal.

What is Whey?

During cheese making, a coagulum is formed by clotting milk with rennet. When the coagulum is cut, a watery liquid known as whey is released and drained off leaving the curd to be salted and further processed into cheese. Whey contains water, fat, protein, lactose, minerals and lactic acid. Cream, butter, cheese, drinks, syrups and powder are some of the products made from whey. Whey will come under the same rule as rennet because it is a by-product which appears during the process of cheese making.

report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top
Rank Image
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
Offline
Unspecified
2,448
Brother
3,778
Abdur Rahman ibn Awf's avatar
#15 [Permalink] Posted on 2nd August 2020 11:14
Concerned wrote:
View original post


The Commercialised version is derived from Pigs.

According to Shaykh Wikipaedia.



report post quote code quick quote reply
No post ratings
back to top